National Scholars Program

Scholar Awards and Accomplishments

Provost Nadim Aziz presented Jenny Tumas ('14, Political Science) with the Al-gernon Sydney Sullivan Award, one of the top senior awards.

Suzanne Weaver and Amanda Youell proudly display their diplomas in 2007

Just as they are chosen for their accomplishments and awards in high school, the Scholars achievements continue at Clemson. Dozens of Scholars have won hundreds of major campus awards and national recognitions since 2000, including:

National, State Recognitions

  • Goldwater Scholarship, the top national fellowship for engineering and science students (10 National Scholars)
  • National Science Foundation Graduate Research Award (6)
  • Rhodes Scholarship national finalist (2)
  • Truman Scholarship national finalist (4)
  • Marshall Scholarship national finalist (2)
  • Whitlock Scholarship from the Brick Industry Association
  • Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl national championship team member (2008)
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers National Conference, first place in the biotechnology division poster competition
  • American Society of Animal Science Award for Scholastic Achievement
  • Silver Bowl Award from the SC State Society of the Daughters of the American Colonists
  • Regional Research Award at 2011 South Eastern Psychological Conference
  • Fulbright Scholar (2)

Top Clemson Recognitions

  • Phi Beta Kappa inductees, since 2007 (15)
  • Who's Who/Order of the Blue Ridge (9)
  • Wallace Dabney Trevillian Merit Award from the College of Business and Behavioral Science (4)
  • CU Norris Medal for most outstanding graduating senior (6)
  • Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award for graduating senior (3)
  • Nick Lomax "Rising Star" Award for outstanding freshman leader (2)
  • Phil Prince Student Personal Development Award (2)
  • Athletic Director’s Award of Excellence (2)
  • Outstanding Senior in the College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences (2)
  • Blue Key Award from the College of Art, Architecture and Humanities (2)
  • Samuel B. Earle Award  for most outstanding senior in the College of Engineering and Science (4)
  • Rudolph E. Lee Award for most outstanding  student in the School of Architecture (2)
  • Diversity Enrichment Award from the Council on Diversity Affairs
  • R.D. Geddes Award for Excellent in Diversity and Communication
  • Susan Delony Student Academic Achievement Award
  • Omicron Delta Kappa Member of the Year
  • President's Leadership Award from Omicron Delta Kappa
  • Miranda White Diversity and Collaboration Award
  • Student Affairs Advisory Board Ambassador Award
  • J.T. Barton Jr. Ethics Essay Competition winner
  • Intercultural Achievement Award
  • Jerome V. Reel Award for academic excellence
  • Service to Society Award
  • Butch Trent Community Service Award
  • Matt Locke Award for service to mankind (3)
  • CU Women's Commission Outstanding Undergraduate Award
  • Phi Kappa Phi Certificate from the College of Business and Behavioral Sciences
  • Phi Kappa Phi Certificate of Merit from the College of Engineering and Science
  • Jerome V. Reel Award of Academic Excellence from Omicron Delta Kappa (2)

Top Academic, Department Awards

  • Marian L. Harris Award for Excellence in Economics (3)
  • Carl Donner Nelson Jr. Award for most outstanding junior in mechanical engineering
  • Matt Locke Faculty Award for Excellence in political science
  • Roger B. Rollin English Essay Award
  • Outstanding Senior in biochemistry
  • Roderick Duncan Geddes Award for Diversity in Communication
  • Department of Public Health Science Scholastic Achievement Award
  • Thomas C. Breazeale Award
  • John Charles Harden Award for mathematical sciences
  • Mathematical Sciences Faculty Award (2)
  • Excellence in Pan-African Studies Award
  • Alpha Rho Chi Medal for leadership and academic excellence in architecture
  • Samuel Manner Martin Award for the most outstanding senior in mathematical sciences
  • W. Moorman Award for most outstanding junior in engineering
  • Harvey J. Wheeler Award for Excellence in Economics
  • Rhodes Outstanding Sophomore Award for computer engineering
  • S W Shalaby Outstanding Sophomore Award for bioengineering department
  • Conservation Biology Senior Scholar Award
  • Outstanding Senior in the Social Sciences
  • James F. Byrnes Award in American Government
  • Ernest Jewell Hardesty Moore Award from the Psychology Department for distinguished senior
  • Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award for mechanical engineering