Skip to main content

Accessibility Guides

Web Accessibility

There are many web accessibility guides out there. We ask that you first refer to Clemson Online's guides and Section 508's guides.

What's Required?

Accessibility at Clemson University In Higher Education Institutions like Clemson University, there are primarily two laws that require us to be accessible. These are the Americans with Disability Act of 1990 (ADA) and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Under the ADA we have an accessibility standard for physical objects and environments called ADAAG. Through Section 508 of The Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (simply called Section 508), we have accessibility standards for electronic and informational technology (EIT). EIT includes digital document, computer programs, and web content as well as kiosks, printers, clickers, and so on. Below is a list of additional standards that have been listed in other accessibility-related lawsuit settlements involving other higher education institutions.

  • WCAG 2.0 AA and WAl-ARIA 1.0 for web content;
  • AT AG 2.0 for software used to create web content;
  • UAAG 1.0 for web browsers, media players and assistive technologies;
  • WCAG2ICT for non-web software and content;
  • MathML 3.0 specifications for digital mathematical and scientific notation;
  • DAISY or ePub3 for digital publications and documents;
  • BANA Guidelines and Standards for Tactile Graphics (2010) and Guidelines for the Production of Braille Materials through the Use of Braille Production Software (2007) for hardcopy Braille.

These standards are fairly long and technical. As such, we suggest that you primarily reference the guides linked at the top of the page for most EIT and then refer back to these standards when you are working with more complex designs.