President's Commission on the Status of Women

A Retrospective 2008-2009

Women's Commission Roster

Dr. Rachel Mayo, Chair
Ms. Robbie Nicholson, Deputy Chair
Ms. Susan Pope
Ms. Helena Douglas
Ms. Kathy Woodard
Dr. Nancy Porter
Ms. Wendy Howard
Dr. Kathy Headley
Dr. Beth Kunkel
Dr. Veronica Parker
Dr. Michelle Martin
Ms. Michelle Chin
Ms. Jolene Hoover
Ms. Dorothy Schmalz
Dr. Elisa K. Sparks

Outstanding Women Awards 2009 winners

Faculty: Dr. Karen Kemper
Staff: Kim Ivy
Distinguished Contributor: Jan Murdoch
Graduate Student: Amanda Booher

Thea McCrary Student Award for Outstanding Service

Callie Boyd

Co-sponsored “Woman’s Transformational Leadership”

Presidential Colloquium with the Rutland Center for Ethics and the Renaissance Center lunchtime event (Greenville, SC) on October 27-28, 2008, with speaker Ms. Linda Tarr-Whelan, a former UN Ambassador on the Status of Women and noted lecturer. Approximately 50 people were in attendance at each event.

12*12*12 Forums

The WC initiated the “12-12-12” forums, held at the 12th of each month at 12 noon for 12 minutes. Four forums were held January — April 2009, with speakers ranging from the dean of the College of Engineering to the chair of the Art Department. This was seen as an excellent opportunity to showcase Clemson University women and highlight the many activities of women professionals at Clemson.

Benefits Fair

Distributed mission statement and goals and gathered input from the campus community.