Clemson University, South Carolina Wordmark


Office of the Provost Awards

Ralph D. Elliott Endowed Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize and honor a Clemson University faculty, staff, and/or administrator who has promoted initiatives in the field of credit or noncredit continuing education in a worthy and exemplary manner. The award will be presented by the President of Clemson University at the General Faculty Meeting in December of each year..

The nomination form is available below. Completed nomination packets should be sent to the Office of the Provost, 206 Sikes Hall. Nominations are accepted throughout the year.

Ralph D. Elliott Endowed Award Nomination Form

Thomas Green Clemson Award

Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence plaque at Clemson University, Clemson South CarolinaThis award was established by the Office of the Provost in 1999 to honor outstanding faculty and staff who have made significant contributions to academic life at Clemson. Nominations are confidential, and nominees should not be apprised of their nomination. Priority will be given to nominees who have not previously received Clemson University-wide awards. The award includes $5,000 to be evenly divided between the recipient and the Clemson University Libraries. Recipients of the award also receive a plaque, and their names are added to the perpetual Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence plaque, which is on permanent display in the lobby of the R.M. Cooper Library. The monies donated to the Libraries will be used to purchase new materials to be added to the Libraries' collection, and these purchases will include a personalized donor plate honoring the award recipient.

The nomination form is available below. Completed nomination packets should be sent to the Office of the Provost, 206 Sikes Hall. Nominations are accepted throughout the year.

The Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence Nomination Form

Thomas Green Clemson Award Recipients

December 2014
Robert Brookover, Senior Lecturer, Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
Karon Donald, Program Director of the Staff Senate

December 2013
Elham B. Makram, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Verna Howell, Associate Vice President of Student Affairs

December 2012
Sandy Edge, Department of Management
Robert Horton, Professor, Secondary Mathematics Education

December 2011
Jack McKenzie, Advancement
Robert Lippert, Associate Professor of Soil Sciences and statewide Hispanic 4-H coordinator

December 2010
Michael Coggeshall, Professor of Sociology and Anthropology
Elizabeth Crockett, Student Services Program Coordinator and Adviser in Engineering and Science

December 2009
Barbara S. Rogers, Administrative Coordinator, Office of Undergraduate Studies
Elizabeth Carney, Professor, Department of History

December 2008
John T Warner, Professor of Economics
Carla Rathbone, Executive Director of Customer Relations and Learning Technologies

December 2007
Mike Vatalaro, Chairman of the Art Department
Elizabeth Milam Lomas, Associate Director of Financial Aid

December 2006
Nancy Leininger, Senior Lecturer in Graphic Communications
JoVanna King, Senior Director of Gift and Estate Planning

December 2005
Linda K. Cocke, Student Services Program Coordinator, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Jerome V. Reel Jr., Senior Vice Provost and University Historian, Office of Undergraduate Studies

December 2004
Stanley B. Smith, University Registrar, Records/Registration
Charlie R. White, Director of the Outdoor Laboratory, Department of PRTM

December 2003
Mark Charney, Interim Chair and Professor, Department of English
Ronald T. Herrin, Director of Payroll and Benefits, Human Resources

December 2002
W. Kirby Player, Coordinator of Alumni and Student Services, College of Agriculture, Forestry & Life Sciences
Lois P. Sill, Life Sciences and Agriculture Librarian, University Libraries

December 2001
Lynda H. Brock, Assistant to the Dean, Administrative and Research Support
Lillian U. (Mickey) Harder, Director of the Brooks Center, Department of Performing Arts

January 2000
Sylvia B. Moore, Administrative Assistant II, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Alumni Distinguished Professors

Active Alumni

College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences
William M. Surver, Biological Sciences
J. Drew Lanham, School of Agriculture, Forest and Environmental Science
Lesly Temesvari, Biological Sciences

College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities
David J. Allison, Architecture
Sydney A. Cross, Art
Steven G. Marks, History

College of Business and Behavioral Science
William R. Dougan, Economics
June J. Pilcher, Psychology

College of Engineering and Science
William C. Bridges, Mathematical Sciences
William F. Moss, Mathematical Sciences
William T. Pennington, Chemistry
Terry M. Tritt, Physics and Astronomy

College of Health, Education and Human Development
David E. Barrett, Teacher Education
Tony W. Cawthon, Leadership, Counselor Ed, Human & Org Development
Robert P. Green, Teacher Education
Antonis Katsiyannis, Teacher Education