Communication Studies

Faculty & Staff

The Department of Communication Studies is home to nationally known scholars conducting cutting-edge communication research in health and sports communication, new communication technologies, organizational communication, media, and culture. Many of the faculty boast degrees from Top-20 research institutions and regularly publish in the most prestigious academic journals, including the Journal of Communication, Journal of Applied Communication Research, Communication Research, Communication Education, Journal of Health Communication, Communication Theory, Western Journal of Communication, and Southern Communication Journal.

Faculty and Staff Profiles:

Directors and Staff Contacts:

Department Chair
Karyn Ogata Jones, Ph.D., karynj@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-1567

Associate Department Chair
Joseph P. Mazer, Ph.D., jmazer@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-5254

Director of Graduate Studies
D. Travers Scott, Ph.D., dscott3@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-5247

Director of Basic Courses
Darren Linvill, Ph.D., darrenl@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-4182

Director of Internships and Study Abroad
Eddie Smith, seddie@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-5383

Director of Forensics
Lindsey Dixonldixon2@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-1567

Student Services Coordinator
Lori Pindarlorip@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-5747

Student Services Coordinator
Tiffany Brightbright8@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-5254

Administrative Assistant
Shana Grant, sgrant@clemson.edu, Phone: 864-656-1567