Construction Science and Management

Events Archive 2010

10/20/2010 Student ASC Competitions

The department had three student teams and seven student shadows compete at the 2010 Associated Schools of Construction (ASC)/ Associated General Contractors of America (AGC) Region II Student Competitions: Commercial, Design-Build, Heavy/Civil and Shadow. The Design-Build and Heavy/Civil teams won first and the Commercial team was 0.2 points away from 2nd Place and Best Presentation. The competition took place in Birmingham, Ala., October 20-22, 2010. The competing schools were Auburn University, Clemson University, Georgia Tech, Georgia Southern University, Mississippi State University, Southern Polytechnic State University, University of Florida, Virginia Tech and Western Carolina University.

A special thanks goes to the following individuals and companies for their participation and support: Steve Foushee of Moss and Associates; E.V. Bennett, Justin Frank, Michael LeFevre, Shanna Morrett, Brad Hutto and Joe Jett of Holder Construction Company; David Burns of Archer Western Contractors; Eric Reichard and Matt Porter of Rodgers Builders: Anthony Murrell, Kirsten Duffy and Kevin Goemaat of Sloan Construction Company: David Blakely of Kiewit Infrastructure South Company; Will Huss and Brian Miller of Trehel; Cynthia Marvin of CJMW Architecture: Lisa Wyckoff and Larry Kingery of McCrory Construction Company; Nate Grachan of Metromont; Fletcher Dickert of Allen Batchelor Construction; Dexter LeCroy of Creative Builders; and Mark Godfrey of McMillan/Pazdan/Smith Architecture.

Design Build Team

Above: Members of the Design-Build team (major, class, hometown) included (front row from left) Lauren Hetzel (ARCH senior, Clarkston, Mich.), Ellis Taylor (ARCH junior, Hendersonville, Tenn.), Shima Clarke (coach), Page Tarleton (CSM junior, Greenville, S.C.). Back row: David Leas (CSM senior, Bethesda, Md.), Seth Addis (CSM junior, Anderson, S.C.) and Ben Godwin (CSM senior, Cheraw, S.C.).

Heavy Civil Team

Above: Members of the Heavy/Civil team in white polo shirts include (from left) RyanPastor (CSM senior, Charlotte, N.C.),Jason Obermiller (CSM senior, Tryon, N.C./ Anderson, S.C.), Taylor Morris (CSMsenior, Blythewood, S.C.), Brittany Lusk(CSM junior, Anderson, S.C.), Josh Craw(CSM senior, Ridgeville, S.C.), JordanSmith (CSM junior, Seneca, S.C.) and ErikSimon (Coach, back row).

Commercial Team

Above: Members of the Commercial team(major, class, hometown) include(from left) Erik Simon (Co-Coach),Tucker Craig (CSM senior, Shelby,N.C.), Zach Davis (CSM junior,LaGrange, Ky.), Michael DeShields(CSM senior, Greenville, S.C.), LauraWeber (CSM senior, Aiken, S.C.),Lewis White (CSM senior, MountPleasant, S.C.), Alex Jaskot (CSMsenior, Huntington, W.V.) and ShimaClarke (Co-Coach).

9/1/2010 Incorporation of New Technologies into CSM Programs

Holder Construction LogoThe department faculty have decided to move forward in implementing a plan to cover emerging technologies including BIM (building information modeling) where appropriate into their classes and not have a special class on the subject. A workshop was conducted by Holder Construction Company representatives for the faculty to learn about BIM and its application in the management of the construction process. In addition, the department will conduct a continuing education workshop for its undergraduate and graduate students to learn about BIM during the spring semester. In terms of LEED, the University Green Building Club conducted a LEED Certification Examination Preparation course during this fall semester. Many CSM majors participated in the event.

8/14/2010 Department to Move into Renovated Facilities

Lee Hall III under construction.

Come January 2012, the CSM Department will move into new and renovated facilities. Once the move is complete, all of our full-time faculty will finally have private offices. In addition, the department will have one additional instructional space that will become a Capstone Studio and some space for its full-time master degree students.

With this move comes some naming opportunities. If you would like to have any of our new spaces named in honor or memory of a person, group or organization, you can make the following monetary contributions over a five-year period to the Clemson University Foundation and designate the funds to be used to support the needed furnishings and/or information technology for the respective spaces.

  • Faculty Offices – $15,000 each
  • Department Office Suite – $50,000
  • Classrooms – $75,000 each
  • Capstone Studio – $125,000

If you alone or in conjunction with other alumni are interested in one of the naming opportunities please contact Roger Liska at the department to discuss your ideas.

6/25/2010 Construction Summer Camp for Rising 11th and 12th Graders

Summer Construction Camp

Dr. Shima Clarke developed and conducted a construction summer camp for rising 11th and 12th graders, held from July 25 to 31, 2010, at Clemson University as part of the Summer Science and Academic Enrichment Program. The purpose of the camp was to introduce qualified, deserving students to the various facets of the construction industry, from trades to management, in hopes that upon graduation these students will choose construction as a profession. The camp was attended by 24 students from South Carolina, Georgia and Massachusetts.

Twentytwo of the 24 students were awarded scholarships to attend the camp by the following organizations, companies and individuals: Mechanical Contractors Association of SC (MCASC), Pee Dee Area MCA, Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) of the Carolinas, Microburst Learning, Waldrop Mechanical Services, Loveless Commercial Contractors, Piedmont Area MCASC, Midland’s Area MCASC, Costal Area MCASC, Jordan & Elizabeth Johnson, CR Hipp Construction, and Easley Mechanical. The following individuals donated their time and expertise: Bill Caldwell, Jamie McDaniel, Jesse Goens, Terry Kennemore, John Knox, David Wood and Angie Massey of Waldrop Mechanical Services; Doug Carlson and Tim Eldridge of ABC of the Carolinas; David De Vita of Carolina Safety Consultants; Neal Workman and Will Huss of Trehel Corp.; Brad Hutto, E.V. Bennett, Blake Sketo and Kim Cannon of Holder Construction Company; David Blakely and Terry Harrold of Kiewit Infrastructure South Company; Mike Kirkland of Kirkland Mechanical; Cullen Stone of John J. Kirlin; Rick Powell of Habitat for Humanity of Anderson; Matt Johnson