Download Adobe Reader

Art Faculty Bio

The faculty of the Art Department are professionals who create an engaging environment for the study and making of art. Students are guided by eight full-time studio art faculty, two art historians and four lecturers who represent a diverse range of art specializations and aesthetic directions. The department's visiting artist program complements the faculty effort by inviting artists of regional and national prominence to conduct lectures, workshops and critiques.

Faculty exhibit regionally and nationally, are represented in museum collections, and are recipients of numerous awards and commission appointment, some with international acclaim. In addition, faculty are active in a number of professional associations. Individual faculty members have received grants from the National Endowment for the Arts and awards from the S.C. Arts Commission.

Chair

Zimany, Valerie A.

Zimany, Valerie A.


Interim Chair and Associate Professor of Art, Ceramics
M.F.A., Kanazawa College of Art, Japan; B.F.A., The University of the Arts
Email: vzimany@clemson.edu


Faculty

Anderson, Todd

Anderson, Todd


Assistant Professor of Art, Printmaking
M.F.A., University of New Mexico; B.F.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: tdander@clemson.edu


Bare, Daniel

Bare, Daniel


Lecturer, Ceramics
Email: bare2@clemson.edu


Detrich, David M.

Detrich, David M.


Professor of Art, Sculpture and Graduate Program Coordinator
M.F.A., Alfred University; B.F.A., Kansas City Art Institute
Email: ddavid@clemson.edu
Phone: 864-656-3890


Donar, David Stewart

Donar, David Stewart


Associate Professor of Art and Digital Production Arts
M.F.A., Bowling Green State University; B.F.A., Eastern Michigan University
Email: ddonar@clemson.edu


Dorsey, Lydia

Dorsey, Lydia


Lecturer, Art Appreciation
M.A., Louisiana State University; B.A., Louisiana State University
Email: ldorsey@clemson.edu


Feeser, Andrea V.

Feeser, Andrea V.


Professor of Art and Architectural History
Ph.D., City University of New York; M.Phil., City University of New York; B.A., Williams College
Email: afeeser@clemson.edu


Hung, Christina Nguyen

Hung, Christina Nguyen


Associate Professor of Digital Art
M.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University; B.F.A., Atlanta College of Art
Email: chung@clemson.edu


Lauritis, Beth Anne

Lauritis, Beth Anne


Assistant Professor of Art History
Ph.D., University of California Los Angeles; B.A., University of California, Los Angeles
Email: blaurit@clemson.edu


Manson, Joey

Manson, Joey


Senior Lecturer / Foundations / Atelier InSite
M.F.A., Alfred University; B.F.A., Clemson University
Email: jv@clemson.edu


McDonald, Todd A.

McDonald, Todd A.


Associate Professor of Art, Painting
M.F.A., Arizona State University; B.F.A., University of Texas at Austin
Email: mcdona5@clemson.edu


Thum, Kathleen

Thum, Kathleen


Associate Professor of Art, Drawing
M.F.A., Bowling Green State University; B.F.A., Maryland Institute, College of Art
Email: kthum@clemson.edu


Woodward-Detrich, Denise C.

Woodward-Detrich, Denise C.


Director of Lee Gallery / Senior Lecturer
M.F.A., Alfred University; B.F.A., Wichita State University
Email: woodwaw@clemson.edu


Wrangle, Anderson

Wrangle, Anderson


Associate Professor of Art, Photography
M.F.A., University of Houston; B.A., The University of the South
Email: awrangl@clemson.edu


Staff

Gugan, Lori

Gugan, Lori


Administrative Assistant
Email: lgugan@clemson.edu
Phone: (864) 656-3881


McTigue, Meredith Mims

McTigue, Meredith Mims


Marketing and Public Relations Director
M.Ed-Higher Education, Clemson University; B.A. in Visual Arts, LU
Email: mmims@clemson.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Acorn, John


Former Chair and Professor Emeritus of Sculpture


Cross, Sydney A.

Cross, Sydney A.


Alumni Distinguished Professor of Art, Emeritus Professor Printmaking
M.F.A., Arizona State University; B.F.A., Northern Arizona University
Email: csydney@clemson.edu


Dimond, Tom


Professor Emeritus of Painting
M.F.A., University of Tennessee
Email: dimondt@clemson.edu


Hudson, Mark


Former Interim Chair; Associate Professor of Art, Painting and Drawing
Email: hudson2@clemson.edu


Lew, William


Former Chair and Professor Emeritus of Art History


Regnier, Ireland

Regnier, Ireland


Professor Emeritus of Painting


Stockham, James


Professor Emeritus of Sculpture


Vatalaro, Michael V.

Vatalaro, Michael V.


Former Chair and Professor Emeritus of Art, Ceramics
M.F.A., Alfred University; B.F.A., University of Akron
Email: vatalam@clemson.edu


Walker, Gerald


Professor Emeritus of Art History


Wang, Samuel T. M.


Alumni Distinguished Professor of Art, Emeritus
M.F.A., University of Iowa; B.A., Augustana College
Email: stwang@clemson.edu