Skip to main content

Art Faculty Bio

ignore

The faculty of the Art Department are professionals who create an engaging environment for the study and making of art. Students are guided by eight full-time studio art faculty, two art historians and four lecturers who represent a diverse range of art specializations and aesthetic directions. The department's visiting artist program complements the faculty effort by inviting artists of regional and national prominence to conduct lectures, workshops and critiques.

Faculty exhibit regionally and nationally, are represented in museum collections, and are recipients of numerous awards and commission appointment, some with international acclaim. In addition, faculty are active in a number of professional associations. Individual faculty members have received grants from the National Endowment for the Arts and awards from the S.C. Arts Commission.

Chair

Zimany, Valerie A.

Chair and Associate Professor of Art, Ceramics
M.F.A., Kanazawa College of Art, Japan; B.F.A., The University of the Arts
Email: vzimany@clemson.edu

Faculty

Anderson, Todd

Associate Professor of Art, Printmaking
M.F.A., University of New Mexico; B.F.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: tdander@clemson.edu

Bare, Daniel

Lecturer of Art, Ceramics / Foundations / Clemson CSArt
Email: bare2@clemson.edu

Brosseau, Mark

Lecturer
M.F.A. University of Pennsylvania in Painting; B.A., Dartmouth College in Studio Art
Email: mbrosse@clemson.edu

Detrich, David M.

Professor of Art, Sculpture and Graduate Program Coordinator
M.F.A., Alfred University; B.F.A., Kansas City Art Institute
Email: ddavid@clemson.edu
Phone: 864-656-3890

Donar, David Stewart

Associate Professor of Art and Digital Production Arts
M.F.A., Bowling Green State University; B.F.A., Eastern Michigan University
Email: ddonar@clemson.edu

Dorsey, Lydia

Faculty, Art Appreciation
M.A., Louisiana State University; B.A., Louisiana State University
Email: ldorsey@clemson.edu

Feeser, Andrea V.

Professor of Art and Architectural History
Ph.D., City University of New York; M.Phil., City University of New York; B.A., Williams College
Email: afeeser@clemson.edu

Gerhard, David

Faculty, Graphic Design
MFA, Clemson University; BA in Studio Art and Communications Studies, Sonoma State University
Email: dgerhar@clemson.edu

Hung, Christina Nguyen

Associate Professor of Digital Art
M.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University; B.F.A., Atlanta College of Art
Email: chung@clemson.edu

Lauritis, Beth Anne

Senior Lecturer of Art History
Ph.D., University of California Los Angeles; B.A., University of California, Los Angeles
Email: blaurit@clemson.edu

Manson, Joey

Senior Lecturer / Foundations / Atelier InSite
M.F.A., Alfred University; B.F.A., Clemson University
Email: jv@clemson.edu

McDonald, Todd A.

Associate Professor of Art, Painting
M.F.A., Arizona State University; B.F.A., University of Texas at Austin
Email: mcdona5@clemson.edu

Thum, Kathleen

Associate Professor of Art, Drawing
M.F.A., Bowling Green State University; B.F.A., Maryland Institute, College of Art
Email: kthum@clemson.edu

Woodward-Detrich, Denise C.

Director of Lee Gallery / Senior Lecturer
M.F.A., Alfred University; B.F.A., Wichita State University
Email: woodwaw@clemson.edu

Wrangle, Anderson

Associate Professor of Art, Photography
M.F.A., University of Houston; B.A., The University of the South
Email: awrangl@clemson.edu

Staff

Gugan, Lori

Administrative Assistant
Email: lgugan@clemson.edu
Phone: (864) 656-3881

McTigue, Meredith Mims

Marketing and Public Relations Director
M.Ed Higher Education, Clemson University; B.A. in Visual Arts, LU
Email: mmims@clemson.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Acorn, John

Acorn, John

Former Chair and Professor Emeritus of Sculpture

Cross, Sydney A.

Alumni Distinguished Professor of Art, Emeritus Professor Printmaking
M.F.A., Arizona State University; B.F.A., Northern Arizona University
Email: csydney@clemson.edu

Dimond, Tom

Dimond, Tom

Professor Emeritus of Painting
M.F.A., University of Tennessee
Email: dimondt@clemson.edu

Hudson, Mark

Hudson, Mark

Former Interim Chair; Associate Professor of Art, Painting and Drawing
Email: hudson2@clemson.edu

Lew, William

Lew, William

Former Chair and Professor Emeritus of Art History

Regnier, Ireland

Professor Emeritus of Painting

Stockham, James

Stockham, James

Professor Emeritus of Sculpture

Vatalaro, Michael V.

Former Chair and Professor Emeritus of Art, Ceramics
M.F.A., Alfred University; B.F.A., University of Akron
Email: vatalam@clemson.edu

Walker, Gerald

Walker, Gerald

Professor Emeritus of Art History

Wang, Samuel T. M.

Wang, Samuel T. M.

Alumni Distinguished Professor of Art, Emeritus
M.F.A., University of Iowa; B.A., Augustana College
Email: stwang@clemson.edu