Skip to main content

Alumni Spotlight

In April 2018, American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) inducted into the College of Fellows Clemson MCRP Alumni, Tripp Muldrow and Carissa Shively Slotterback. It is a recognition of the highest level of professional achievement by AICP.  Out of about 16,000 AICP members roughly 500 are fellows.

Fellows of AICP are honored in recognition of the achievements of the planner as an individual, elevating the Fellow before the public and the profession as a model planner who has made significant contributions to planning and society. Fellowship is granted to planners who have been members of AICP and have achieved excellence in professional practice, teaching and mentoring, research, public and community service, and leadership.

MCRP Alumni Feature
Carissa Shively Slotterback, MCRP (1997)

Carissa Schively Slotterback, Ph.D., FAICP assumed the role as Associate Dean with the Humphrey Scool of Public Affairs at University of Minnesota in June 2017. She has been a member of the Humphrey School Faculty since 2004. She served as Director of the Humphrey School's Master of Urban and Regional Plaanning program from 2010 to 2014. Dr. Slotterback previously served as Director of Research Engagement in Office of Vice President for Research within University of Minnesota and co-founded Resilient Communities project.

Slotterback’s leadership roles extend beyond the University of Minnesota, and includes previous service as regional representative and now as the elected secretary of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP). In Fall 2017, she received the Marcia M. Feld Leadership Award from ACSP and its Faculty Women’s Interest Group for her outstanding leadership in the organization. She has also served on multiple committees with the American Planning Association and is a 15-year member of the American Institute of Certified Planners. In April 2018, Dr. Slotterback was inducted into the College of Fellows with the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP).