Download Adobe Reader

Faculty and Staff

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Ashton, Susanna

Ashton, Susanna


Professor and Chair
Ph.D. English, University of Iowa
Email: sashton@clemson.edu
Office: 802 Strode
Research Interests: US 19th Century Lit, Biography, Authorship, American Slave Narratives

Blakesley, David

Blakesley, David


Professor and Campbell Chair in Technical Communication; Fellow, Rhetoric Society of America
Ph.D. Rhetoric, Linguistics, and Literature, University of Southern California
Email: dblakes@clemson.edu
Office: 616 Strode
Phone: (765)-409-2649
Research Interests: Rhetoric of Film and Digital Media, Production-related Practices

Bose, Maria

Bose, Maria


Assistant Professor
Ph.D. English, University of California, Irvine
Email: mbose@clemson.edu
Office: 809 Strode
Research Interests: C21 US Culture; New Media; Contemporary Warfare; Racial Formation

Brown, Nic

Brown, Nic


Associate Professor
M.F.A., University of Iowa Writers' Workshop, Fiction
Email: ncbrown@clemson.edu
Office: 315 Strode

Bushnell, Cameron Fae

Bushnell, Cameron Fae


Associate Professor, 20th-Century Anglophone Postcolonial Literature
Ph.D. English, University of Maryland
Email: cbushne@clemson.edu
Office: 810 Strode
Research Interests: Interdisciplinary Studies

Coombs, David

Coombs, David


Assistant Professor, Literature and History of Technology
Ph.D. English, Cornell University
Email: dcoombs@clemson.edu
Office: 613 Strode
Research Interests: Victorian Literature and the history of science and technology

Eatman, Megan


Assistant Professor
Ph.D. English (Concentration: Rhetoric), University of Texas at Austin
Email: meeatma@clemson.edu
Office: 605 Strode

Field, Jonathan Beecher

Field, Jonathan Beecher


Associate Professor, American literature
Ph.D. English, University of Chicago
Email: jbfield@clemson.edu
Office: 808 Strode

Funk, James

Funk, James


Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D English, University of California, Irvine
Email: jbfunk@clemson.edu
Office: 615 Strode
Research Interests: Early Modern British Lit, Lit Theory, Theology, Political Theory

Goss, Erin M.

Goss, Erin M.


Associate Professor, British literature
Ph.D. English, Emory University
Email: egoss@clemson.edu
Office: 803 Strode

Hankins, Gabriel

Hankins, Gabriel


Assistant Professor, Digital Humanities
Ph.D. English Language and Literature, University of Virginia
Email: ghankin@clemson.edu
Office: 609 Strode
Research Interests: Modernism, Digital Humanities, Correspondence, and Visualization

Haynes, Cynthia Ann

Haynes, Cynthia Ann


Professor, rhetoric and composition
Ph.D. Humanities (concentration: Rhetoric & Composition), University of Texas, Arlington
Email: texcyn@clemson.edu
Office: 806 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-3040
Research Interests: RhetComp, Critical Theory, Games Studies, Terrorism & Conflict

Hislop, Maya

Hislop, Maya


Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Email: mhislop@clemson.edu
Office: 811 Strode
Research Interests: 20th and 21st century American and African American Literature

Holmevik, Jan Rune

Holmevik, Jan Rune


Associate Professor, professional communication and rhetoric
Dr.Art. Humanistic Informatics, University of Bergen, Norway
Email: jholmev@clemson.edu
Office: 2107 Barre Hall
Research Interests: Digital Publishing and Media Production, Transmedia Storytelling

Hooley, Matt

Hooley, Matt


Assistant Professor
Ph.D. English and Native American Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: mhooley@clemson.edu
Office: 317 Strode
Research Interests: Environmental Humanities, Native Studies, US Colonialism Studies

Howard, Tharon, Ph.D.

Howard, Tharon, Ph.D.


Professor, professional communication and rhetoric
Ph.D. Englsih, Purdue University (1992)
Email: tharon@clemson.edu
Office: 617 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-3488
Research Interests: Digital Publishing and Media Production

Hunter, Walt

Hunter, Walt


Assistant Professor of World Literature; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D. English Language and Literature, University of Virginia (2013)
Curriculum Vitae
Email: hunter1@clemson.edu
Office: 805 Strode
Phone: (610) 220-9142
Research Interests: Contemporary Poetry and Poetics, Global Studies

Katz, Steven B.

Katz, Steven B.


Pearce Professor of Professional Communication; Fellow, Rutland Institute for Ethics
Ph.D. Communication & Rhetoric, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Email: skatz@clemson.edu
Office: 602 Strode
Research Interests: Ethics in Technical Communication; Rhetoric, Poetry, and Science

LeMahieu, Michael

LeMahieu, Michael


Associate Professor
Ph.D. English, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: mlemahi@clemson.edu
Office: 307 Strode
Research Interests: 20th/21st Cent American Lit. Civil War Memory. Philosophy of Language.

Lemons, Andy

Lemons, Andy


Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Comparative Literature, Princeton University
Email: alemons@clemson.edu
Office: 306 Strode
Research Interests: Medieval, Renaissance & World Lit, Philology, Poetics, Sword Fighting

Manganelli, Kimberly Snyder


Associate Professor, 19th-century British and American literature
Ph.D. English, Cornell University
Email: kmangan@clemson.edu
Office: 807 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-5408

Mastroianni, Dominic

Mastroianni, Dominic


Associate Professor, American literature
Ph.D. English, Emory University
Email: dbm@clemson.edu
Office: 608 Strode
Research Interests: 19th-Century US Literature, Emerson and Thoreau, History of Philosophy

McGrath, Brian

McGrath, Brian


Associate Professor, British literature and literary theory
Ph.D. Comparative Literature, Emory University
Email: mcgrath@clemson.edu
Office: 607 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-3151
Research Interests: Romanticism, Poetry and Poetics, Aesthetic and Literary Theory

Morgenstern, John

Morgenstern, John


Director, Clemson University Press and Center for Electronic and Digital Publishing
DPhil English Language and Literature, University of Oxford
Email: jmorgen@clemson.edu
Office: 609 Strode
Phone: (864)656-2232
Research Interests: Modernism, Literature and the arts, Editing

Morris, Keith


Professor, creative writing
M.F.A. Creative Writing (Fiction), University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Email: km@clemson.edu
Office: 314 Strode
Research Interests: Fiction Writing, Contemporary Literature, Literary Editing

Naimou, Angela

Naimou, Angela


Associate Professor
Ph.D. English, Cornell University
Email: anaimou@clemson.edu
Office: 709 Strode
Research Interests: Global Studies, Cultures of the Americas and the Middle East

Palmer, R Barton

Palmer, R Barton


Professor of Literature; film, screenwriting and British literature
Ph.D. Cinema Studies, New York University
Email: ppalmer@clemson.edu
Office: 707 Strode
Research Interests: Adaptation, Authorship, and Classic Hollywood

Rivlin, Elizabeth

Rivlin, Elizabeth


Associate Professor, Shakespeare and Early Modern British Literature
Ph.D. English, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: rivlin@clemson.edu
Office: 804 Strode
Research Interests: Film Adaptations of Shakespeare

Rogers, Jamie

Rogers, Jamie


Visiting Assistant Professor
Email: jar6@clemson.edu
Office: 615 Strode

Skrodzka, Aga

Skrodzka, Aga


Associate Professor, Film and Media Studies; Associate Chair
Ph.D. Comparative Literary and Cultural Studies, SUNY Stony Brook
Email: askrodz@clemson.edu
Office: 712 Strode
Phone: 864-656-3151
Research Interests: Film Theory, Transnational and Post-Socialist Cinemas

Smith, Michelle

Smith, Michelle


Assistant Professor
Ph.D. English (emphasis in Rhetoric and Composition), Pennsylvania State University
Email: mcsmth@clemson.edu
Office: 606 Strode
Research Interests: Feminist Rhetorics, Rhetorical Theory

Stockton, William

Stockton, William


Professor, Renaissance Literature
Ph.D. English, Indiana University, Bloomington
Email: wstockt@clemson.edu
Office: 610 Strode
Research Interests: Renaissance Literature and Queer Theory

Thomas, Rhondda Robinson

Thomas, Rhondda Robinson


Calhoun Lemon Professor of Literature
Ph.D. English, University of Maryland
Email: rhonddt@clemson.edu
Office: 812 Strode
Research Interests: 18th & 19th Century African American & American Literature

Ty, Michelle


Assistant Professor
Ph.D. English, University of California, Berkeley
Email: mty@clemson.edu
Office: 615 Strode

Vitanza, Victor

Vitanza, Victor


Professor, rhetorics, communication and information design
Ph.D. Media and Communications Philosophy, European Graduate School
Email: sophist@clemson.edu
Office: 711 Strode
Phone: (864) 656-6411
Research Interests: Rhetorics of Cinematics and Post-Cinematics

Weise, Jillian

Weise, Jillian


Associate Professor, Creative Writing
Ph.D. English, University of Cincinnati
Email: jweise@clemson.edu
Office: 312 Strode
Research Interests: Creative Writing, 20th & 21st c. American/World Literature

Williams, Sean

Williams, Sean


Professor, Professional Communication
Ph.D. English, University of Washington
Email: sean@clemson.edu
Office: 708 Strode
Research Interests: Communication in business and entrepreneurship

Lecturers

Aldebol-Hazle, Kristen

Aldebol-Hazle, Kristen


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, University of California, Davis (2014)
Email: kaldebo@clemson.edu
Office: 511 Strode
Research Interests: Medievalism, Middle English Literature, Allegory, Bodies

Beal, Bree

Beal, Bree


Lecturer
Ph.D. Institute for the Liberal Arts, Emory University
Email: bbeal@clemson.edu
Office: Watt 333
Research Interests: Moral Psych, Philosophy, Lit, Evolutionary Biology and Ethology

Beck, Katalin

Beck, Katalin


Lecturer
M.A. Professional Communication, Clemson University
Email: kbeck@clemson.edu
Office: 507 Strode
Research Interests: Rhetoric of Global Virtual Collaboration and Online Education

Benson, Christopher A

Benson, Christopher A


Senior Lecturer
M.A. English, Clemson University
Email: benson6@clemson.edu
Office: 516 Strode
Research Interests: General English Studies, American Folk and Roots Musicology

Chwala, Gregory Luke

Chwala, Gregory Luke


Lecturer
Ph.D. English Literature and Criticism, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Email: gchwala@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode

Citro, Daniel

Citro, Daniel


Lecturer
Ph.D. English: Creative Writing, University of Georgia
Email: dcitro@clemson.edu
Office: 311 Strode
Research Interests: International Modernisms, Forms/Genres

Clarey, Chelsea

Clarey, Chelsea


Lecturer
M.A. English, Clemson University
Email: cclarey@clemson.edu
Office: 810 Strode Tower
Research Interests: 19th Century Transatlantic Literature; Domesticity

Cooper, Sarah

Cooper, Sarah


Senior Lecturer
M.F.A. Poetry, Converse College
Email: scoope5@clemson.edu
Office: 511 Strode
Research Interests: Women's and Gender Studies within contemporary contexts

Cunningham, Will


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, University of Kansas
Email: wcunnin@clemson.edu
Office: 410 Daniel
Research Interests: American Literature, Place and Critical Race Theory

Dugan, Melissa

Dugan, Melissa


Lecturer
M.F.A. Creative Writing - Poetry, University of South Carolin
Email: mmdugan@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode

Fisk, Ashley S

Fisk, Ashley S


Senior Lecturer
M.A. Professional Communication, Clemson University
Email: cowden2@clemson.edu
Office: 506 Strode
Research Interests: Technical and Business Communication and Service Learning

Foltz, David Charles


Lecturer
M.A. English, Clemson University
Email: davidf@clemson.edu
Office: 507 Strode

Forsberg, Jennifer

Forsberg, Jennifer


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, University of Nevada Reno
Email: jforsbe@clemson.edu
Office: 502 Strode
Research Interests: 20th/21st Cent. American Lit & Culture, Gender, Working-Class Studies

Ghita, Lucian

Ghita, Lucian


Lecturer
Email: lghita@clemson.edu
Office: 507 Strode
Research Interests: Shakespeare, Renaissance and Modern Drama, Film Adaptation, World Lit

Godwin, Hannah

Godwin, Hannah


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, University of Oregon
Email: hgodwin@clemson.edu
Office: 514 Strode
Research Interests: Modernist Literature and Culture; Childhood Studies; Sexuality Studies

Gorman, Austin

Gorman, Austin


Director of the Writing Center
Ph.D. English Literature, Brown University
Email: gorman1@clemson.edu
Office: 307 ASC
Research Interests: 20th Cent. American Lit, Writing Center & Pedagogy, Econonomics & Lit

Green, La'Cresha


Lecturer
M.A. Rhetoric & Teaching of Writing, Northern Arizona University
Email: lacresg@clemson.edu
Office: 502 Strode

Harris, Allison

Harris, Allison


Lecturer
Ph.D English, University of Miami (2017)
Email: anh3@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode
Research Interests: Contemporary MELUS, AfAm & Diasporic Lit, Appalachian/Southern Studies

Johnson, Tareva

Johnson, Tareva


Lecturer
Ph.D. English Literature, University of Georgia (2018)
Email: tarevaj@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode

Kettnich, Karen

Kettnich, Karen


Lecturer
Email: kkettni@clemson.edu
Office: 511 Strode

Koets, Julia

Koets, Julia


Lecturer
PhD Creative Writing and Literature, University of Cincinnati
Email: jkoets@clemson.edu
Office: 514 Strode
Research Interests: Lyric Poetry, LGBTQ literature, lyric essay, hybrid forms

Kurz, Lindsey

Kurz, Lindsey


Lecturer
Ph.D. Literature and Cultural Studies, University of Cincinnati (2018)
Email: lkurz@clemson.edu
Office: 410 Daniel

MacAlystre, Megan Noel

MacAlystre, Megan Noel


Senior Lecturer
ABD English, University of California Riverside
Email: mmacaly@clemson.edu
Office: 311 Strode

Makala, Melissa

Makala, Melissa


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, University of South Carolina
Office: 810 Strode Tower
Research Interests: 19/20th Century British Lit, Women's Writing, Gothic

Mathas, Andrew

Mathas, Andrew


Lecturer
M.A. English Language and Literature, Clemson University
Email: amathas@clemson.edu
Office: 311 Strode
Research Interests: 20th/21st Century Literature, Military Literature, Existentialism

Messina, Henna

Messina, Henna


Lecturer
Ph.D. English Literature, University of Georgia (2018)
Email: hmessin@clemson.edu
Office: 410 Daniel

Monaghan, Amy N

Monaghan, Amy N


Senior Lecturer
M.A. Cinema Studies, New York University
Email: amonagh@clemson.edu
Office: 514 Strode
Research Interests: Film Studies, American Independent Cinema

Nalley, Kathleen

Nalley, Kathleen


Lecturer
M.F.A. Creative Writing, Converse College
Email: snalley@clemson.edu
Office: 511 Strode
Research Interests: Holocaust Literature, Dystopias, Social Justice Poetry

Nestor, Mary

Nestor, Mary


Lecturer
Doctor of Philosophy in English, University of Aberdeen (2016)
Email: mcnesto@clemson.edu
Office: 410 Daniel

Paxton-Wilson, Nancy

Paxton-Wilson, Nancy


Lecturer
Doctor of Philosophy, Georgia State University (2018)
Email: npaxton@clemson.edu
Office: 302 Strode

Pierce, Ingrid

Pierce, Ingrid


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, Purdue University (2018)
Email: ipierce@clemson.edu
Office: 506 Strode

Pietruszewski, Megan


Lecturer
Master of Science in Rhetoric, Theory, and Culture, Michigan Technological University (2018)
Email: mpietru@clemson.edu
Office: 410 Daniel

Pulley, Mike

Pulley, Mike


Senior Lecturer
M.A. English (Creative Writing), California State University
Curriculum Vitae
Email: wpulley@clemson.edu
Office: 302 Strode
Research Interests: Technical and Scientific Communication; Contemporary Poetry

Pursley III, John Logan

Pursley III, John Logan


Senior Lecturer
M.F.A. Creative Writing (Poetry), University of Alabama
Email: pursle3@clemson.edu
Office: 302 Strode
Research Interests: Creative Writing, Publishing, 20th & 21st Century Literature

Randall, Philip D


Senior Lecturer
M.A. Professional Communication, Clemson University
Email: randal3@clemson.edu
Office: 302 Strode

Robinson, Geveryl


Lecturer
Email: geveryr@clemson.edu
Office: 311 Strode

Smith, John

Smith, John


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, Boston University
Email: johnsm@clemson.edu
Office: 810 Strode
Research Interests: Film Theory; Film Adaptation; Genre; Television Studies

Stansell, Elizabeth Anderson

Stansell, Elizabeth Anderson


Senior Lecturer
M.A. English, Clemson University
Email: eander3@clemson.edu
Office: 506 Strode

Stripling, Stephanie

Stripling, Stephanie


Lecturer
Email: sstripl@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode

Sunia, Patricia

Sunia, Patricia


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2018)
Email: psunia@clemson.edu
Office: 410 Daniel

Swords, Allen N.

Swords, Allen N.


Senior Lecturer
M.A. English, Clemson University
Email: swords@clemson.edu
Office: 516 Strode
Research Interests: Sequential art, Holocaust Lit & Art, Vietnam War & Star Wars mythos

Tricker, Spencer

Tricker, Spencer


Lecturer
Ph.D. English, University of Miami (2018)
Email: stricke@clemson.edu
Office: 707 Strode

Troy, Eddy

Troy, Eddy


Lecturer
Ph.D. Comparative Literature, University of California Riverside (2017)
Email: etroy@clemson.edu
Office: 410 Daniel

Tuite, Kenneth

Tuite, Kenneth


Lecturer
Ph.D. Classics, University of Texas at Austin
Email: ktuite@clemson.edu
Office: 310 Daniel

Wakefield, Jennie

Wakefield, Jennie


Lecturer
M.A., Clemson University
Email: jwakefi@clemson.edu
Office: 810 Strode Tower

Watt, Caitlin

Watt, Caitlin


Lecturer
Ph.D. Comparative Literature, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: cgwatt@clemson.edu
Office: 333 Watt

Whitaker, Chloe


Lecturer
M.A. English, Clemson University
Email: chloew@clemson.edu
Office: 516 Strode

Wiley, Candace

Wiley, Candace


Lecturer
M.F.A. Creative Writing, University of South Carolina
Email: wiley2@clemson.edu
Office: 517 Strode

Williams, Heather

Williams, Heather


Lecturer
Email: hpwilli@clemson.edu
Office: 707 Strode
Research Interests: Contemporary Postcolonial & World Literature; Spatial Literary Studies

Young, Caroline

Young, Caroline


Lecturer
Ph.D. English Literature and Creative Writing, University of Georgia
Email: ceyoung@clemson.edu
Office: 502 Strode

Staff

Chastain, Susan

Chastain, Susan


Fiscal Analyst
A.A.S. Business Admin./Finance, Forest College
Email: schasta@clemson.edu
Office: 814 Strode
Phone: 864-656-5381

Crist-Wagner, Keri

Crist-Wagner, Keri


Student Services Program Coordinator
M.A. English, Composition, University of Dayton
Email: kcristw@clemson.edu
Office: 816 Strode Tower
Phone: 656-3152

Millet, Aleesa

Millet, Aleesa


Administrative Assistant
M.A. Children's Literature, Eastern Michigan University
Email: aleesam@clemson.edu
Office: 801 Strode
Phone: 656-3151