Clemson Computing & Information Technology

Full Listing

In Outlook 2003 or 2007, what is AutoComplete Addressing?
View The Full Article
Outlook 2003 or 2007 come with an addressing feature called AutoComplete, which is turned on by default. AutoComplete remembers addresses you have recently used when you type a minimum of three characters which match previously used addresses, it will complete the address with a unique match from the list of remembered addresses. These addresses are already resolved, and thus ignore any lookup in the Global Address List GAL or your Contacts. Note: When you enter an address in the From: field, it is critical that it resolves to the GAL, not to the SMTP address for example, Fudd, Elmer instead of efuddclemson.edu . If the From: field resolves to usernameclemson.edu , you will see a permissions error. If you watch as you type the username, and see usernameclemson.edu display in the list, highlight it and delete it. This effectively removes it from the list of remembered addresses. To disable AutoComplete: From the Outlook Tools menu, click Options... . Exchange Implementation Team Best Practice Guidelines The AutoComplete feature in Outlook allows you to reference previously used email addresses when specifying email recipients. As you start typing an address in the TO:, CC: or BCC: fields, a drop down box will appear allowing you to select a previously used address. This feature is similar to the Internet Explorer browser feature for specifying URLs. If you have incorrect addresses or addresses you no longer require in your AutoComplete list, you can delete them by selecting the unwanted name using the up or down arrow on the list and clicking the DELETE key. We recommend that you leave the AutoComplete feature turned on. For more information about this feature, type autocomplete in the Ask a Question box. Click the Preferences tab, then click Email Options... . Click Advanced Email Options... , then deselect the checkbox next to Suggest names while completing To, Cc, and Bcc fields. Then click OK to close each of the three open windows.