Skip to main content

Chalmers M. Butler

ChalmersProfessor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Emeritus

Ph.D. - 1962, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Electrical Engineering
M.S. - 1959, Clemson University
Electrical Engineering
B.S. - 1957, Clemson University
Electrical Engineering

Contact Information
Office: 336 Fluor Daniel EIB
Office Phone: 864.656.5922
Fax: 864.656.7220

Before joining Clemson University in 1985, Dr. Butler was a member of the faculty at Louisiana State University, the University of Houston, and the University of  Mississippi where he was Chairman of Electrical Engineering (1965-74) and University Distinguished Professor (1976-83). 

Research Interests
Professor Butler's research has been focused primarily upon Green’s functions and integral equation techniques in electromagnetics and upon numerical methods for solving integral equations. His principal applications interests are in antennas and aperture penetration. He has authored or co-authored over 100 refereed journal papers and numerous book chapters in these research areas.

Professor Butler is a member of Sigma Xi, Tau Beta Pi, Phi Kappa Phi, and Eta Kappa Nu.   He received the Western Electric Fund Award (1974), the 1977-1978 School of Engineering Outstanding Teacher Award at the University of Mississippi, and the 1990, 1991, 1993, and 1994 NCR/AT&T Excellence in Teaching Award at Clemson.  He has received two best paper awards: Best Basic EMP Non-Source Region Paper during 1975-78 from the SUMMA Foundation and the 1986 Oliver Lodge Premium Award from the Institute of Electrical Engineers of London.  He received the 1990 and the 2003 Editor's Citation for Excellence in Refereeing in Radio Science, the 1990-91 McQueen Quattlebaum Faculty Achievement Award, the 1994-95 Provost’s Award for Scholarly Achievement, the Class of 1939 Faculty Achievement Award, and the 2000 Alumni Award for Excellence in Research at Clemson University.  From the University of Wisconsin he received the Centennial Medal for Contributions to Electrical and Computer Engineering.  He is a recipient of the IEEE Millennium Medal and the 2003 recipient of the IEEE AP-S Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award.

Dr. Butler is a member of Commissions B and F of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI), and he is a Life Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE).  He has served as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (1972-77 and 1981-83) and of the IEEE Transactions on Education, as a member of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Administrative Committee (1976-78 and 1988-90), as an IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society National Distinguished Lecturer (1977-79), as Chairman of U. S. Commission B of URSI (1983-85), as International Commission B Editor of the Review of Radio  Science (1978-80 and 1981-83), and as National President of  Eta Kappa Nu.  He has been a member of the Editorial Boards of Electromagnetics and of Computer Applications in Engineering Education, and has served as guest editor of two special issues of Radio Science.  He served as Secretary (1985-87), Vice Chairman (1987-90), and Chairman (1990-93) of the U.S. National Committee for URSI.  He has been Vice Chairman (1994-96) and Chairman (1997-99) of International Commission B of URSI.  Presently, he is a Vice President of URSI.

Professor Butler was a U.S. delegate to the 18th - 26th General Assemblies of URSI and chaired the 120-person U.S. delegation for the 24th (Kyoto, 1993). He has served on a number of committees and panels including the IEEE Hertz Medal Committee (1996-97), the IEEE Awards Board, the National Academy of Sciences Panel for Evaluation of the Center for Electronics and Engineering of the National Bureau of Standards (now NIST) (1982-86), and the National Research Council's Panel for the Evaluation of the U.S. Army's Mine Detection Program (1985-90), which he chaired. He has been a member of numerous technical program committees of National Radio Science Meetings and IEEE AP-S International Symposia and served as General Chairman of the NIST Workshop on EMI/EMC Metrology Challenges for Industry. He was the Vice Chairman of the Technical Program Committee for the 1995 URSI Electromagnetic Theory Symposium in St. Petersburg, Russia, and chaired the same committee for the 1998 URSI Electromagnetic Theory Symposium held in Thessaloniki, Greece.