Latest news and information from the CUCWD.

>> <<

CUCWD and Duke Energy Foundation – Honoring SC STEM Educators


From increasing student interest in science and technology to preparing high school students for careers in advanced manufacturing, the first funding distributed by the Clemson University Center for Workforce Development was accepted Thursday, August 8th, by school districts from across South Carolina.

The Workforce Development Center awarded 36 school districts and charter schools and nine technical colleges a total of $450,000 for workforce development initiatives. The school districts shared $175,000 and the technical colleges $275,000 to support STEM — science, technology, engineering and mathematics — programs.

The awards were presented at Clemson University Sandhill Research and Education Center by the Center for Workforce Development and representatives from Duke Energy.

“Our company is strong if our customers and communities are strong,” said Clark Gillespy, Duke Energy’s state president for South Carolina. “We are proud to partner with the Center for Workforce Development to provide these important grants to strengthen workforce development in South Carolina.”

As part of its commitment to bolster South Carolina’s manufacturing base, the Duke Energy Foundation funded workforce development initiatives in the state with a $4.11 million award to help provide a next-generation workforce in key cluster areas.

Duke Energy tasked Clemson to manage educational, research and outreach activities in support of workforce development and STEM education.

With a focus on advanced manufacturing to support South Carolina’s burgeoning manufacturing industry, the Center for Workforce Development oversees distribution of the funds to partner institutions that include universities, technical colleges, K-12 institutions and STEM-oriented organizations through competitive funding awards, scholarships and internships.



Schools and Districts

  • Abbeville County

  • Anderson Districts 1, 2, 3, 5

  • Clarendon District 2

  • Florence Districts 1, 2

  • Georgetown
  • Greenville County

  • Greenwood Districts 50, 51, 52

  • Horry County

  • Kershaw County

  • Laurens Districts 55, 56

  • Legacy Charter School
  • Marion County

  • Marlboro County

  • Oconee County

  • Pee Dee Math, Science and Technology Academy
  • Pickens County

  • S.C. Charter Schools

  • Spartanburg Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7

  • Sumter
  • Williamsburg County

  • York Districts 1, 2, 3

Technical Colleges

  • Central Carolina Technical College

  • Florence-Darlington Technical College

  • Greenville Technical College

  • Midlands Technical College

  • Northeastern Technical College

  • Piedmont Technical College

  • Spartanburg Community College

  • Tri-County Technical College

  • Williamsburg Technical College
>> <<