Skip to main content

Advisory Committee

EAC members provide expert guidance in managerial, clinical, and technological dimensions and have dynamic relationships with center faculty and PIs. The scientists comprising the EAC are:

Joachim Kohn, Ph.D.
Board of Governors Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Rutgers University
Director and Founder, New Jersey Center for Biomaterials (RESBIO)
Director, NIH-funded P41 Integrated Technologies for Polymeric Biomaterials – RESBIO grant

Glenn Prestwich, Ph.D.
Presidential Professor, Medicinal Chemistry, University of Utah
Adjunct Professor, Departments of Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Bioengineering, U. of Utah
Director, Center for Cell Signaling
Director, Center for Therapeutic Biomaterials.
Former chair, Department of Medicinal Chemistry (1996 to 2002)
Program Leader, Molecular Pharmacology Program, Huntsman Cancer Institute
Recipient, Alfred P. Sloan Research Award
Recipient, Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award
Recipient, 1998 Paul Dawson Biotechnology Award, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

Buddy Ratner, Ph.D.
Director, University of Washington Engineered Biomaterials Center (UWEB)
Director, Washington Research Foundation
Distinguished Professor of Bioengineering, Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Washington
Founding Director, NESAC/BIO

Ray Runyan, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy, University of Arizona
Member, NIH Cardiovascular Development and Differentiation Study Section
Vice President, Epithelial-Mesenchymal Transition International Association (2007-2008)

Anand Ramamurthi, Ph.D.
Associate Staff / Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering (ND20)
Lerner Research Institute
Cleveland Clinic

William R. Wagner, Ph.D.
Deputy Director, McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Associate Professor of Surgery, Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering, University of Pittsburgh
Director, Thrombosis Research for the Artificial Heart and Lung Program
Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering
Founding editor, Acta Biomaterialia
Editorial boards, Journal of Biomedical Materials Research and Biotechnology & Bioengineering
Former Chair, Gordon Research Conference on Biomaterials: Biocompatibility & Tissue Engineering

Clinical Advisory Council

The Clinical Advisory Council is a multidisciplinary team with a broad range of clinical experience. Members are:

Frederick Schoen, MD, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology and Health Sciences and Technology, Harvard Medical School, Brigham & Women's Hospital
Executive Vice Chairman, Department of Pathology, Brigham & Women's Hospital

Ravi Bellamkonda, Ph.D.
Wallace H. Coulter Endowed Chair and is the  Departmental Chair of the Wallace H Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech/Emory. Georg ia Tech