Industrial Engineering

Edwin J Freeman Student Development Fund

Established by Edwin J. Freeman, this endowment supports a variety of student awards administered by the Department of Industrial Engineering.

Academic Achievement Awards

These awards recognize superior academic performance based upon grade point average. The Sophomore and Junior Awards recognize individuals with the highest grade point average in their class. The Senior Award recognizes the outstanding individual with a grade point average greater than 3.5 and other outstanding achievements.

Jim Chisman Outstanding Senior Award

This award is sponsored by an endowment from Jim Chisman designated as a part of the Freeman fund. The awardees' are selected for their "all-around" excellence. The award recipient is selected by a faculty committee.

Kimbler Undergraduate Research Award

This award is sponsored by an endowment from Elisabeth and Delbert Kimbler designated as a part of the Freeman fund. The purpose of the award is to encourage research by undergraduate industrial engineering students by recognizing superior examples of undergraduate research in publication. The award recipient is selected by a faculty committee.


The awards will be presented at the annual IE Recognition Dinner, held in conjunction with Honors and Awards Week each spring.


Students wishing to be considered for the awards should submit an application form at the beginning of each fall and spring semester. Updates may be submitted at any time. Students who graduate in December must submit their application before leaving campus to be considered for applicable awards in the spring semester. Award winners are selected on the basis of information submitted by applicants using the  Awards Application Form (MS Word Document) and the Student Information Form (.pdf document). Both the documents should be electronically submitted to the Awards Committee Chair, Dr. Scott Shappell (

Recent Award Recipients

Academic Achievement Award - Sophomore
Academic Achievement
Award - Junior
Academic Achievement Award - Senior
2007 Jennifer M. Tate Anna B. Sparks Oliver Basic & Laura Young
2006 Ashley M. O'Brien Sarah J. Grigg Christian M. Buchmann
2005 Sarah J. Grigg & Laura R. Young Ashley N. Potts Sarah A. Canterbury
2004 Ashley N. Potts Sarah A. Canterbury Mary J. Runkle
Marisa Lee Kikendall
Michael Gary Corley
Samuel Alexander Long
Kerry McGuire
James Glenn
Kristen Kelley
Laura Mosher
Michael G. Corley
James R. Glenn, Jr.
Laura C. Mosher
Casey X. Young
2000 Martie G. Hudson Catherine E. McClendon Spencer N. Bernstein


Maintained by:
Industrial Engineering Department, College of Engineering and Science
110 Freeman Hall, Clemson, S.C. 29634 | IE Webmaster | (864) 656-4716