Department of Mathematical Sciences

Faculty Research Areas

Degree programs are organized by discipline into six areas in the mathematical sciences: algebra and discrete mathematics, applied analysis, computational mathematics, financial mathematics, operations research, and probability and statistics. Each of these areas is described briefly below with a list of associated courses and participating faculty. Although the areas are described separately, there is considerable overlap and interaction between the areas.