Faculty Senate

Centennial Professorship

The Centennial Professorship is bestowed by the Clemson University faculty upon an outstanding colleague who is tenured or has a tenure-track appointment with demonstrated excellence in one or more of the following areas: undergraduate and/or graduate teaching, applied and/or basic research, public/extension service, and librarianship. The award will be approximately $12,000 per year, which can be used at the recipient’s discretion for a salary supplement, travel, supplies, equipment, and/or graduate student support. The Centennial Professorship is for a non-renewable two-year term. Recipients are recognized at the General Faculty Meeting in May. Caricatures by Kate Salley Palmer of award recipients are placed in the Madren Center.

The Centennial Professorship was established by the Faculty Senate in 1988. In 1987, the Faculty Senate passed a resolution concerning establishing a named professorship to honor excellence in teaching. The Centennial Professorship is the professorship created from that initiative. The faculty of Clemson University and their friends raised funds, and the Commission of Higher Education rewarded a matching grant to Clemson University for the creation of the Centennial Professorship fund. Since 1992, the Centennial Professorship Award has promoted excellence in teaching, research, service, and librarianship.

A call for nominations with details is sent from the Faculty Senate Office to all faculty every odd year, early in the spring semester. A set pair of Colleges is eligible every other year: ES & HEHD (2015), AFLS & Libraries (2017), and AAH and BBS (2019). The Faculty Senate President chairs the selection committee of one administrator, one endowed/titled chair, and two faculty-at-large (not from that year’s eligible colleges) who are selected by the Senate, by secret ballot.

Past Award Winners
Laura Olson2013 - Laura Olson

Dr. Laura Olson, a professor of Political Science, is committed to mentoring and educating students, recognized scholarship in political science, and significant public and institutional service. She is leading the vanguard that is shaping the nascent meta-disciplinary field of the scientific study of religion. Dr. Olson is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion, and she is on the editorial boards of four other journals. She serves as her department's academic advisor and assessment coordinator, and as a member of various academic committees.



2008 – David C. Guynn

Dr. David C. Guynn, a professor emeritus of Forestry and Resource Management has served at Clemson for over thirty years. Dr. Guynn’s primary focus is forest wildlife. He has authored over 100 technical publications and numerous public service and popular articles. He has received many awards for his scholarship and service. Dr. Guynn has directed over fifty graduate students. He has been active in The Wildlife Society (TWS) for many years and has served as president of the Southeastern Section and as Southeastern Section representative to TWS council.

Other past award winners include:
Roger Grant (2004)
Roger Grant
Sid Gauthreaux (2002)
Sid Gauthreaux
Darren Dawson (2000)
Darren Dawson
Don Clayton (1996)
Don Clayton
Fran McGuire (1994)
Fran McGuire
Jim Goree (1992)
Jim Goree

Other past award winners include Murray Daw (2006) and Ray Sawyer (1998). Caricatures of Award Recipients are by Kate Salley Palmer, a cartoonist, writer, and illustrator who lives in Clemson.