Faculty Senate

Alan Schaffer Faculty Senate Service Award

This award recognizes individuals for exceptional service on behalf of the Faculty Senate. Any faculty, staff, or administrator in a permanent position at the University, with strong preference given to individuals who have provided direct service to the Faculty Senate, can be considered. Current officers of the Faculty Senate are ineligible. The recipient of the award is granted a stipend of $500, and $1000 is donated to the Clemson Libraries in the recipient’s honor. The award recipient is recognized at the April meeting of the Faculty Senate.

The Alan Schaffer Faculty Senate Service Award commemorates the late Alan Schaffer. Dr. Schaffer served as the Head of the Department of History and as a professor of History for over thirty years. Professor Schaffer was the epitome of faculty governance and provided unstinted service to the University by serving two terms as a Faculty Senator, as a Grievance Counselor, as a member of the University Grievance Board, as Faculty Manual Editorial Consultant, and as Chair and member of various Faculty Senate Standing Committees. He served with great distinction as Faculty Senate President in 1993-1994. Dr. Schaffer’s life was characterized by service to the faculty of Clemson University. This award was created in 2006 to honor his commitment to the Faculty Service and encourages others to emulate his commitment to faculty governance.

Nominations for the Alan Schaffer Faculty Senate Service Award are due to the Faculty Senate Office February 15th each year. For full details, download the ASFSSA nomination form. The Faculty Senate President chairs the selection committee of two past award recipients.

Past Award Winners

Michelle Piekutowski

2013 - Michelle Piekutowski

Michelle Piekutowiski, Interim Chief Human Resources Officer, has worked tirelessly at a variety of levels and in a number of ways to dramatically transform the Clemson University HR enterprise to better serve faculty and other Clemson employees. She has advocated more equitable, market-based pay for faculty. Michelle has included members of the Faculty Senate in discussions about Human Resources, and has worked to help the Faculty Senate achieve its aims.

Kelly Smith

2012 - Kelly Smith

Kelly Smith, a professor of Biological Science and Philosophy, has been a faculty senator for the majority of his tenure at Clemson University. Dr. Smith has served as the lead senator for the College of Architecture, Arts, and Humanities, as Faculty Senate Secretary, and as Grievance Board Chair. He has served on many of the standing committees of the Faculty Senate and has represented the Senate as a member of various University committees, including the President’s Council. Currently, Dr. Smith is serving as the Faculty Senate President (2013-14).

Other recipients of the Alan Schaffer Faculty Senate Service Award include: Beth Kunkel (2011), Holley Ulbrich (2010), Fran McGuire (2009), John Huffman (2008), Pat Smart (2007), and Alan Grubb (2006).