Faculty Senate

Free Speech and Open Forum

Directly responding to results of the 1996 Faculty Survey, the Faculty Senate has initiated a “Free Speech” period to be held during all Faculty Senate meetings. Meetings are open and all faculty are invited to participate in this agenda item. See Meeting Schedule for date and location. Note that views presented during “Free Speech” period are not necessarily those of the Clemson University Faculty Senate.

Download the “Free Speech” guidelines

John Bednar – January 2013

Ken Marcus – December 2012

Open Forum provides a venue for any faculty member to exercise freedom of speech in an effort to uplift and improve Clemson University. All University Faculty are invited to submit essays to be considered for Open Forum.Open Forum submission are reviewed by the Open Forum editors. Open Forum editors are elected annually by the Faculty Senate. The Open Forum editors for the fall 2013 semester are Kelly Smith and Jeremy King. Although all essays have been reviewed by the editors of the Faculty Senate Open Forum, the published essays do not necessarily represent the views of the editors or the Clemson University Faculty Senate.

Download the Open Forum guidelines.


James McCubbin – March 2014
Professor of Psychology
Threats to Academic Freedom in South Carolina


Bryan E. Denham - September 2012
Communication Studies
On University Rankings

George Chumanov - April 2012
Professor of Chemistry

Todd May - April 2012
Department of Philosophy and Religion
Jeff Love
Department of Languages
Top Ten Clemson University Administrative Self-Deceptions

Sydney A.Cross - March 2012
Alumni Distinguished Professor


Andrew S. Mount – October 2013
Research Associate Professor
CU at the Crossroads: Recommendation on Presidential Leadership for Clemson University

Bryan E. Denham – October 2013
Campbell Professor of Sports Communications
CU by the Numbers

Fran McGuire – October 2013
Alumni Distinguished Professor Emeritus
The Problem with Imposed Governance at Clemson

Sydney A. Cross – April 2013
Alumni Distinguished Professor
Georges Fadel
ExxonMobile Employees Endowed Chair in Mechanical Engineering