Skip to main content

Academic Council

Last Updated: 12/15/2017

Administrative Home

Office of the Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Contact Name

Brenda Smith-Allen, Executive Assistant to the Provost (bjs@clemson.edu)

Description

The Academic Council reviews and recommends academic policy to the Provost. Such matters may be routed to the President through the Provost by a majority vote. The council receives reports and recommendations from committees and groups reporting to it. The Academic Council also reviews recommendations regardng University-wide academic policy that emanate from the office of the Provost, the Faculty Senate, the Student Senate, collegiate faculties, as well as from ad hoc committees appointed by the President or Provost. The Academic Council shall view its role primarily as an oversight body guiding and advising the University with regard to academic policy. 

Faculty Manual Reference

Chapter VII 

Report Due Date

TBA

Meeting Frequency

At least once per academic semester

Related Committees, Organizations, etc

See Chapter VII

Membership Composition

Seat TypeQuantityTerm LengthDate of Term InitiationSeat Filling MechanismVoting or Non-Voting
Chair, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost  1 NA By Position Voting
Academic college and Library deans 8 By Position Voting
One regular faculty member from Each College and from the Library 8 Staggered 3 years 15-August Elected by the faculty accorded voting rights in each college Voting
Undergraduate Students: The President of the Student Body and the President of the Student Senate 2 By Position Voting
President of Graduate Student Government 1 By Position Voting
President of the Faculty Senate 1 By Position Voting
Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School 1 By Position Voting
Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies 1 By Position Voting
Associate Provost for Global Engagement 1 By Position Voting
President-Elect of the Faculty Senate By Position Non-Voting
Dean of Students 1 By Position Non-Voting
President of the Staff Senate 1 By Position Non-Voting
Extension Senate Chair 1 By Position Non-Voting

Membership List (Last updated December 15, 2017)

NameEmailSeat TypeDepartment and CollegeAppointment DateTerm Expires
Robert H. Jones provost@clemson.edu/bjs@clemson.edu Chair Academic Affairs
George Fadel fgeorge@clemson.edu Representative  ECAS 5-15-2019
Scott Mason mason@clemson.edu Alternate ECAS 5-15-2019
Jamil Faiza fjamil@clemson.edu Representative Education 5-15-2019
Mike Godfrey mgodfre@clemson.edu Alternate Education 5-15-2019
June Pilcher jpilche@clemson.edu Representative BSHS 5-15-2019
Sheri Webster swebste@clemson.edu Alternate BSHS 5-15-2019
Abel Bartley abartly@clemson.edu Representative AAH 5-15-2019
Stephen Fitzmaurice sfitzma@clemson.edu Alternate AAH 5-15-2019
Lambert McCarty bmccrty@clemson.edu Representative CAFLS 5-15-2019
Eric Benson ebenson@clemson.edu Alternate CAFLS 5-15-2019
Matthew Macauley macaule@clemson.edu Representative  Science 5-15-2019
William Baldwin baldwin@clemson.edu Alternate Science 5-15-2019
Carl Hollingsworth chollin@clemson.edu Representative Business 5-15-2019
Jesse Moore jessem@clemson.edu Alternate Business 5-15-2019
Brenda Burk bburk@clemson.edu Representative Library 5-15-2019
Andy Wesolek awesole@clemson.edu Alternate Library 5-15-2019
Bob Brookover bob@clemson.edu Representative Faculty Senate Designee 5-15-2018
Please contact the Faculty Senate Office with any questions about updating this page.