Skip to main content

Graduate Academic Grievance Committee

Last Updated: 11/06/2017

Administrative Home

Office of the Dean of the Graduate School

Contact Name

Dena Smith, Assistant to the Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (


The Graduate Academic Grievance Committee hears grievances and recommends resolutions to student grievances forwarded to it from the Graduate School and the Initial Grievance Review Board (IGRB). In the case of appeal, the committee prepares the file and forwards recommendations to the Dean of the Graduate School. The IGRB is responsible for determining which grievances go forward to the Graduate Academic Grievance Committee. 

Faculty Manual Reference

Chapter VII 

Report Due Date


Meeting Frequency

As needed.

Membership Composition

Seat TypeQuantityTerm LengthDate of Term InitiationSeat Filling MechanismVoting or Non-Voting
Chair 1 Non-Voting
Two faculty members from each college  114 2 years Elected by the faculty accorded voting right in each college Voting
Graduate Student Representative from each college 7 1 year Nominated by the President of Graduate Student Government and appointed by the Dean of the Graduate School Voting

Membership List (Last updated November 6, 2017)

NameEmailSeat TypeDepartment and CollegeAppointment DateTerm Expires
Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or dean's designee) Non-Voting Chair
Lambert McCarty Member Plant & Environmental Sciences; AFLS 2020
Feng Chen Member Food, Nutrition, & Packaging Science; AFLS 2019
Dan Anco Member Ag & Env Sci; AFLS 2019
Matthew Hooley Member English; AAH  2019
Aga Skrodzka Member English; AAH 2018
Nona Woolbright Member Graphic Communications; Business 2019
Frances Edwards Member Accountancy & Finance 2018
Liam O'Hara Member Graphic Communications 2019
Kevin Taaffe Member Industrial Engineering; ECAS 2019
Pradip Srimani Member Computing; ECAS 2019
Minory Nammouz Member Environmental Eng. & Earth Science; ECAS 2019
Lori Dickes Member PRTM; BSHS 2019
Arelis Moore Member Youth, Family & Comm Studies; BSHS 2019
Rachel Mayo Member Public Health Sciences; BSHS 2019
C. C. Bates Member Education & Human Dev.; Education 2019
Jackie Malloy Member Teaching & Learning; Education 2019
Gerald Lehmacher Member Physics & Astronomy; Science 2019
Peter van den Hurk Member Biological Sciences; Science 2019
Jens Oberheide Member Physics & Astronomy; Science 2018
Unaiza Uzair Member Graduate Student Government (Chemistry) 2018
Chris Egan Member Graduate Student Government (Public Administration) 2018
Smriti Bhargava Member Graduate Student Government (Economics) 2018
Please contact the Faculty Senate Office with any questions about updating this page.