Skip to main content

Graduate Advisory Committee

Last Updated: 11/06/2017

Administrative Home

Office of the Dean of the Graduate School

Contact Name

Dena Smith, Assistant to the Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (denas@clemson.edu)

Description

The Graduate Advisory Committee independently studies and reviews policy on non-curricular graduate student academic matters and on those issues affecting the general welfare of graduate students. 

Faculty Manual Reference

Chapter VII 

Report Due Date

TBA

Meeting Frequency

As needed.

Membership Composition

Seat TypeQuantityTerm LengthDate of Term InitiationSeat Filling MechanismVoting or Non-Voting
Chair 1 NA Non-Voting
One faculty members from Each College and from the Library 8 Elected by the faculty accorded voting right in each college and the Library Voting
Faculty Member  1 Three year term Appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate Voting
Graduate Students One year Nominated by the President of Graduate Student Government and appointed by the Dean of the Graduate School  Voting

Membership List (Last updated November 6, 2017)

NameEmailSeat TypeDepartment and CollegeAppointment DateTerm Expires
Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or dean's designee) jwo@clemson.edu Non-Voting Chair
Nishanth Tharayil ntharay@clemson.edu Voting Ag & Env Sci; AFLS 2019
David Detrich ddavid@clemson.edu Voting Art; AAH  2019
William Dougan douganw@clemson.edu Voting Economics; Business 2019
Karen High khigh@clemson.edu Voting Eng & Science Ed 2020
Sarah Griffin sgriffi@clemson.edu Voting Public Health Sciences; BSHS 2020
Natasha Croom nncroom@clemson.edu Voting Ed & Org Leadership Dev; Education 2019
dana Voting Science 2019
Nashieli Marcano nmarcan@clemson.edu Voting University Libraries 2020
Jan Holmevik jholmev@clemson.edu Voting Faculty Senate Representative (English) 2019
Aury Kangelos akangel@clemson.edu Voting Graduate Student Government (Policy Studies) 2018
Aris Hall aris2@clemson.edu Voting Graduate Student Government (Ed Leadership) 2018
Debra Sparacino dcspara@clemson.edu Non-Voting Registrar
Please contact the Faculty Senate Office with any questions about updating this page.