Skip to main content

Graduate Fellowships and Awards Committee

Last Updated: 11/06/2017

Administrative Home

Office of the Graduate School

Contact Name

Dena Smith, Assistant to the Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (


The Graduate Fellowships and Awards Committee formulates and recommends policies and procedures relating to graduate fellowships and awards to the Council on Graduate Studies and oversees selection of the recipients for University-wide fellowships and the campus competition from departmental nominations for awards for outstanding graduate students. 

Faculty Manual Reference

Chapter VII 

Report Due Date


Meeting Frequency

As needed.

Membership Composition

Seat TypeQuantityTerm LengthDate of Term InitiationSeat Filling MechanismVoting or Non-Voting
Chair 1 Non-Voting
One Faculty Member from each College 7 Elected by the Faculty accorded voting rights in each college Voting
Associate Vice President of Enrollment Management (or designee) 1 Non-Voting

Membership List (Last updated November 6, 2017)

NameEmailSeat TypeDepartment and CollegeAppointment DateTerm Expires
Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or dean's designee) Non-Voting Chair
David Jachowski Voting For & Env Cons; AFLS 2019
Andreea Mihalache Voting Architecture; AAH 2019
Curtis Simon Voting Economics; Business 2019
Wayne Goddard Voting  Computing; ECAS 2019
Ed Brainerd Voting  Psychology; BSHS 2020
Frederick Buskey Voting Leadership, Counselor Education; Education 2019
Jens Oberheide Voting  Physics & Astronomy; Science 2019
David S. Fleming Ex-Officio Associate Dean of the Graduate School
Richard "Ritz" Ritzman Ex-Officio Director of Financial Aid
Please contact the Faculty Senate Office with any questions about updating this page.