Commercial Applicator Licensing

If you apply any herbicides, insecticides, rodenticides, or other types of pesticides to another person’s property as part of your job and/or for compensation, you are a Commercial Applicator and must be licensed in the state of South Carolina.

NEW:  DIGITAL ONLINE TESTING

We have added the convenience of being able to test at various technical colleges throughout the state for your Certified Applicator’s License. You will be able to schedule a time and place that is convenient for you and get your results immediately. Please contact Holly Lizotte at 864.646.2164 for more information and to register for this exam.

To apply for a Commercial Applicator License, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years-old;
  • Pass a two-part written exam;
  • Show financial responsibility;
  • Complete the application form; and
  • Submit the application fee.

Category 7 (General Structural Pest Control) applicators must have not less than $100,000 combined single limit liability coverage, which must include both bodily injury and property damage coverage.

Category 3 (Turf & Ornamental Pest Control), Category 5 (Aquatic Pest Control), and Category 8 (Public Health Pest Control) applicators must have a $50,000 minimum with an aggregate claims limit of not less than $100,000. Other commercial applicator categories must have a $25,000 minimum with a deductible not exceeding $1000. We cannot accept insurance “binders” in lieu of actual proof of insurance. You must provide an insurance policy number before we can issue a commercial license. A list of companies that provide this type of insurance is available through DPR.

Individuals in Category 12 are required take a 50-question exam with the Core material included in the exam. They should study both the Core and the Category 12 manuals.

South Carolina Certification Categories
Rules & Regulations for the Enforcement of the SC Pesticide Control Act
(315kb, pdf)

Renew Your License
Department of Pesticide Regulation Enforcement Matrix (38kb, pdf)


Exam Information for SC Applicator's License


Pre-Registration and Fee Information

Examinees must prepay and pre-register no less than two weeks prior to the exam session. You will not be allowed to take the exam without pre-registering.  Personnel at exam sessions will not accept payment. If you have already passed the core exam in a previous exam session, you may take additional category exams at the session you have pre-registered for.

Make your check or money order payable to Clemson University and mail to:

Exam Registration
Department of Pesticide Regulation
511 Westinghouse Road
Pendleton, SC 29670

Do not send cash. Cash will not be accepted.

Exam fees:

Core Exam and one category $100.00
Core only $75.00
Each additional categories $50.00
Categories 12A, 12B, and 12D $50.00
Dealer Exam $50.00

Bona fide students may pay a reduced fee of $38.00 for the core exam and one category; $50.00 for additional each additional categories. Students must show proof of current student status.