Skip to main content
Clemson University, South Carolina Wordmark
Apply to Clemson University, South Carolina Admissions Apply ribbon

Clemson University Commission on Sustainability

The Clemson University Commission on Sustainability was established in September of 2009 by President James Barker. In December of 2010, the commission released a draft of the University’s first comprehensive Sustainability Plan, acting as the basis for all sustainability practices at Clemson. The plan was filed in accordance with the American College and University President’s Climate Commitment, to which Clemson is a signatory. The Clemson University Sustainability Commission is the coordinating body for our efforts to become a model of sustainability among institutions. To creatively address sustainability, the commission facilitates collaboration among students, faculty, staff, and the community by integrating education, research, and public service with the social, economic, and environmental infrastructure. The commission meets once a month and meetings are open to all members of the University community; individuals interested in becoming involved are encouraged to attend.

Please check the Sustainability Calendar for dates and times.
Download Clemson University Commission on Sustainability Charter.
Download Clemson University Commission on Sustainability Report Card.

The Clemson University Commission on Sustainability includes representatives from the following departments:

  • Public Service Activities
  • Clemson Experimental Forest
  • College of Business
  • College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences
  • College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities
  • Senior class undergraduate student
  • Undergraduate Student Government Eco-Rep
  • Graduate Student Government
  • President’s Chief of Staff
  • Student Affairs
  • University Planning and Design
  • Strom Thurmond Institute
  • Environmental Committee
  • Office of Public Affairs