Fleet Safety Program
Clemson University has adopted the South Carolina Fleet Safety Program established by the South Carolina State Budget and Control Board. This program applies to all employees who have occasion to drive Clemson University vehicles.
The program requirements are:
- Provide eight segments of Defensive Driving Courses (DDC-8) and four segments of Refresher Courses (DDC-4) every three years for all Clemson University employees, at no cost to the employee. Completion of the DDC-8 will entitle a certificate holder to receive up to four points credit on his/her driving record. Registration may be accomplished by calling 864-656-3354. New employees or reassigned employees who fit any of the following categories must attend the full eight segments of courses within 60 days and must maintain a valid DDC certificate as long as the employee is operating a state-owned vehicle:
- Employees who operate a state-owned vehicle as part of their job.
- Employees permanently assigned a vehicle.
- Employees at fault in preventable state vehicle accidents.
- Employees whose motor vehicle record shows nine or more violation points, two state vehicle accidents or three total vehicle accidents.
- Establish an Accident Review Board to review all accidents involving Clemson University vehicles. South Carolina Code of Law 1-11-141 provides that a state employee operator may be assessed up to $200 if found to be "at fault" in an accident after a review of records conducted by the Accident Review Board.
- Screen motor vehicle records of all employees annually.