Skip to content
COVID-19 Updates and Resources

History and Geography

Faculty and Staff Directory


Chair

Bein, Amit

Bein, Amit

Professor and Department Chair, History
Modern Turkey and the Middle East; World War II
Email: abein@clemson.edu
Office: 126 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-3153


Faculty

Andrew Jr., Rod

Andrew Jr., Rod

Professor
American South, U.S. Military
Email: jrandre@clemson.edu
Office: 12 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-3153


Baker, Andrew

Baker, Andrew

Lecturer
Twentieth Century United States, American South, Politics
Email: ahbaker@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 023


Barczewski, Stephanie L.

Barczewski, Stephanie L.

Professor
Modern Britain
Email: sbarcze@clemson.edu
Office: 114 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153


Bartley, Abel A.

Bartley, Abel A.

Professor
African-American, Urban, & Civil Rights History, History of Sports
Email: abartly@clemson.edu
Office: 108 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-5372


Burns, James M.

Burns, James M.

Professor and Associate Dean of Undergraduate and Graduate Studies in the College of AAH
Africa, British Empire, History of Cinema
Email: burnsj@clemson.edu
Office: 101 A Strode Tower
Phone: 864-656-5373


Burton, Orville Vernon

Burton, Orville Vernon

Professor of History; Director of the Clemson Cyberinstitute
American History, Southern History
Email: vburton@clemson.edu
Office: 120 Hardin Hall
Phone: 217-649-0608


Catalano, Joshua

Catalano, Joshua

Assistant Professor; Coordinator of Public History Emphasis Area
Early America, Public History, Digital History
Email: catala4@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 002


Collini, Sara

Collini, Sara

Postdoctoral Fellow in University History
Slavery, Early America, Women's History, Digital History
Email: collini@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 203


Dunn, Caroline

Dunn, Caroline

Associate Professor
Medieval Europe, particularly women's roles and social networks
Email: cdunn@clemson.edu
Office: 110 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153


Grant, H. Roger

Grant, H. Roger

Kathryn and Calhoun Lemon Professor; Centennial Professor (2004-2006)
American History, Railroad History
Email: ggrant@clemson.edu
Office: 226 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-3153


Grubb, C. Alan

Grubb, C. Alan

Associate Professor
French History
Email: agrub@clemson.edu
Office: 118 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-5360


Hassell, Stephanie

Hassell, Stephanie

Assistant Professor
Slavery, Indian Ocean World
Email: stphanh@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 104


Hilliard, Ryan

Hilliard, Ryan

Assistant Professor
Early Modern Europe; France; History of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Email: rhillia@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 018


Jeffries, James Bradford

Jeffries, James Bradford

Senior Lecturer (Native American Religions)
Native American History
Email: jjeffri@clemson.edu
Office: 28 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-5377


Langenfeld, Kathryn

Langenfeld, Kathryn

Assistant Professor
Ancient Rome, Ancient Mediterranean
Email: klangen@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 008


Mack, Pamela E.

Mack, Pamela E.

Associate Professor
History of Science, History of Technology, Digital History
Email: pammack@clemson.edu
Office: 6 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153


Marks, Steven G.

Marks, Steven G.

Alumni Professor
Russia, Spain, World Economic History
Email: msteven@clemson.edu
Office: 106 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153


Meng, Michael L.

Meng, Michael L.

Associate Professor; Graduate Studies Director
Modern Germany
Email: mmeng@clemson.edu
Office: 116 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153


Moore, Rachel Anne

Moore, Rachel Anne

Associate Professor
Latin America
Email: rchico@clemson.edu
Office: 112 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153


Moïse, Edwin E.

Moïse, Edwin E.

Professor
Vietnam War, Modern China, Modern Vietnam, Modern Military History
Email: eemoise@clemson.edu
Office: 102 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-3153


Regan, Amanda

Regan, Amanda

Lecturer
Email: aeregan@clemson.edu


Seefeldt, Douglas

Seefeldt, Douglas

Associate Professor
Email: wseefel@clemson.edu
Office: 14 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153


Shimoni Stoil, Rebecca

Shimoni Stoil, Rebecca

Assistant Professor
Twentieth Century United States
Email: rstoil@clemson.edu
Office: 010 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-3153


Silvestri, Michael S.

Silvestri, Michael S.

Professor; Coordinator of the Undergraduate Program in History
British Empire, Ireland
Email: msilves@clemson.edu
Office: 122 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153


Smith, Christa A.

Smith, Christa A.

Associate Professor
Geography of the South
Email: casmith@clemson.edu
Office: 10 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153


Terry, William

Terry, William

Associate Professor
Economic Geography, Labor Migration, Tourism, GIS
Email: terry2@clemson.edu
Office: 121 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153


Venkatesh, Archana

Venkatesh, Archana

Assistant Professor
South Asia, Oral History, Women's History, History of Medicine
Email: archanv@clemson.edu
Office: 016 Hardin Hall


Wilson, Lee B.

Wilson, Lee B.

Assistant Professor
Legal History, Colonial America
Email: wilson1@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 002


Wood, Tara S.

Wood, Tara S.

Lecturer
Email: tswood2@clemson.edu
Office: 202 Hardin Hall


Affiliated Faculty

Eisenstadt, Peter

Eisenstadt, Peter

Affiliated Scholar
African American, Urban, and Religious History; History of NYC &38; NY
Email: peisenst@gmail.com


Emeritus Faculty

Anderson, Paul Christopher

Anderson, Paul Christopher

Alumni Master Teacher and University Historian
American South, South Carolina
Email: pcander@clemson.edu
Office: 127 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-8719


Burnett, George W.

Burnett, George W.

Professor Emeritus of Geography and Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management
Email: karlosk@clemson.edu


Carney, Elizabeth D.

Carney, Elizabeth D.

Professor; Carol K. Brown Endowed Scholar in Humanities
Ancient Greece, Rome, Egypt
Email: elizab@clemson.edu
Office: 110 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153


Kuehn, Thomas J.

Kuehn, Thomas J.

Professor (Protestant Reformation)
Aspects of family life and kinship in Italy between 1300 and 1600
Email: tjkuehn@clemson.edu
Office: 116 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-5361


McKale, Donald M.

McKale, Donald M.

Class of '41 Memorial Professor of Humanities
Email: mckaled@clemson.edu
Phone: 864/656-3153


Miller, James A.

Miller, James A.

Associate Professor of Geography Emeritus
Email: miller3@clemson.edu


Saunders Jr., Richard L.

Saunders Jr., Richard L.

Professor Emeritus and Alumni Master Teacher
Email: airedal@clemson.edu


Suggs, Henry Lewis

Suggs, Henry Lewis

Professor Emeritus of American History
Email: Suggs314@aol.com


Taylor-Shockley, Megan

Taylor-Shockley, Megan

Professor
Public History, U.S. Women’s History, Labor
Email: mshockl@clemson.edu


Waller, Robert A.

Waller, Robert A.

Professor of History Emeritus, Dean of Liberal Arts College Emeritus


Staff

Carter, Jeannette

Carter, Jeannette

Fiscal Tech. II
Email: Jeannec@clemson.edu
Phone: 864/656-3153


Marcus, Sheri E.

Marcus, Sheri E.

Administrative Coordinator
Email: ssheri@clemson.edu
Phone: 864/656-7538


Department of History and Geography
Department of History and Geography | 126D Hardin Hall, Clemson, SC 29634