Download Adobe Reader


STCofficers.jpegThe MAWRM program is home to the Clemson University Student Chapter of the Society for Technical Communication. After receiving advice from the local professional STC chapter based in Greenville, SC, MAWRM students began their own student chapter in the fall of 2008. The chapter allows students to learn more about the field while still in school, by providing MAWRM students with networking opportunities and access to helpful webinars and other informative presentations. On a national level, the Society for Technical Communication is an individual membership organization dedicated to advancing the arts and sciences of technical communication. It is the largest organization of its type in the world. Its 14,000 members include technical writers and editors, content developers, documentation specialists, technical illustrators, instructional designers, academics, information architects, usability and human factors professionals, visual designers, Web designers and developers, and translators—anyone whose work makes technical information available to those who need it.

The Clemson University STC student chapter elected the following officers for the 2017–18 school year:

Co-President: Sarah Carter (

Co-President: Martha Karnes (

Vice President: Valerie Smith 

Secretary: Ciara Marshall 

Treasurer: Sarah Richardson

Publicist: Abigail Maxim

Please Note: Clemson STC events are open to members only; however, membership is open to graduate and undergraduate students in all majors. If you’re interested in joining STC—to take advantage of these and other opportunities—or if you have any questions about Clemson STC, please contact Co-President: Sarah Carter ( or Co-President: Martha Karnes (