Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff


Chair

Burns, James M.

Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara (1998)
Email: burnsj@clemson.edu
Office: 126 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864-656-5373
Research Interests: Africa, British Empire, history of cinema

Faculty

Anderson, Paul Christopher

Associate Professor; Alumni Master Teacher; and University Historian
Ph.D., University of Mississippi (1998)
Email: pcander@clemson.edu
Office: 14 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153
Research Interests: American South, South Carolina, American Civil War

Andrew Jr., Rod

Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia (1997)
Curriculum Vitae
Email: jrandre@clemson.edu
Office: 12 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153
Research Interests: American South, U.S. Military

Barczewski, Stephanie L.

Professor
Ph.D., Yale University (1996)
Email: sbarcze@clemson.edu
Office: 114 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153
Research Interests: Modern Britain

Bartley, Abel A.

Professor
Ph.D., Florida State University (1994)
Email: abartly@clemson.edu
Office: 108 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-5372
Research Interests: African-American history, urban, civil rights, history of sports

Bein, Amit

Professor; Coordinator of the Undergraduate Program in History
Ph.D., Princeton University (2006)
Email: abein@clemson.edu
Office: 202 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153
Research Interests: Modern Turkey and the Middle East; World War II.

Burton, Orville Vernon

Professor of History; Director of the Clemson Cyberinstitute
Ph.D., Princeton University (1976)
Email: vburton@clemson.edu
Office: 120 Hardin Hall
Phone: (217) 649-0608
Research Interests: American history, southern history

Catalano, Joshua

Assistant Professor; Coordinator of Public History Emphasis Area
PhD, George Mason University (2019)
Email: catala4@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 002

Dunn, Caroline

Associate Professor (Medieval Crusades)
Ph.D., Fordham University (2007)
Email: cdunn@clemson.edu
Office: B08 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864 656 3153
Research Interests: Medieval Europe, particularly women's roles and social networks

Grant, H. Roger

Kathryn and Calhoun Lemon Professor; Centennial Professor (2004-2006)
Ph.D., University of Missouri (1970)
Email: ggrant@clemson.edu
Office: 226 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: American history, railroad history

Grubb, C. Alan

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University (1969)
Email: agrub@clemson.edu
Office: 118 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-5360
Research Interests: French history

Hassell, Stephanie

Assistant Professor
PhD, Stanford University (2014)
Email: stphanh@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 104
Research Interests: Slavery, Indian Ocean World

Jeffries, James Bradford

Senior Lecturer (Native American Religions)
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara (2007)
Email: jjeffri@clemson.edu
Office: 28 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-5377
Research Interests: Native American history

Kuehn, Thomas J.

Professor (Protestant Reformation)
Ph.D., University of Chicago (1977)
Curriculum Vitae
Email: tjkuehn@clemson.edu
Office: 116 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-5361
Research Interests: Aspects of family life and kinship in Italy between 1300 and 1600

Langenfeld, Kathryn

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Classical Studies, Duke University (2017)
Email: klangen@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 008

Mack, Pamela E.

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania (1983)
Email: pammack@clemson.edu
Office: 6 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: History of science

Marks, Steven G.

Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University (1988)
Email: msteven@clemson.edu
Office: 106 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: Russian history and world economic history

Meng, Michael L.

Associate Professor; Graduate Studies Director
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2008)
Email: mmeng@clemson.edu
Office: 016 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: Modern Germany

Moore, Rachel Anne

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley (2006)
Email: rchico@clemson.edu
Office: 112 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: Latin America

Morey, Maribel

Assistant Professor - On leave 2019/20
Ph.D., Princeton University (2013)
Email: moreym@clemson.edu
Research Interests: American legal history

Moïse, Edwin E.

Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan (1977)
Email: eemoise@clemson.edu
Office: 102 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: the Vietnam War, modern China, modern Vietnam, modern military history

Shimoni Stoil, Rebecca

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins (2018)
Email: rstoil@clemson.edu
Office: 010 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: Twentieth century United States

Silvestri, Michael S.

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University (1998)
Email: msilves@clemson.edu
Office: 122 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: British Empire, Ireland

Smith, Christa A.

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Tennessee (2000)
Email: casmith@clemson.edu
Office: 10 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: Geography of the South

Terry, William

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina (2009)
Email: terry2@clemson.edu
Office: 121 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: Economic Geography, especially Labor Migration in Tourism Industries

Wilson, Lee B.

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia (2014)
Email: wilson1@clemson.edu
Office: Hardin 002
Research Interests: Legal History, Colonial America

Emeritus Faculty

Burnett, George W.

Professor Emeritus of Geography and Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management
Email: karlosk@clemson.edu

Carney, Elizabeth D.

Professor; Carol K. Brown Endowed Scholar in Humanities
Ph.D., Duke University (1975)
Email: elizab@clemson.edu
Office: 110 Hardin Hall
Phone: 864/656-3153
Research Interests: Ancient Greece, Rome, Egypt

McKale, Donald M.

Class of '41 Memorial Professor of Humanities
Ph.D., Kent State University (1970)
Email: mckaled@clemson.edu
Phone: 864/656-3153

Miller, James A.

Associate Professor of Geography Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin (1981)
Email: miller3@clemson.edu

Nicholas, David

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Brown (1967)
Email: dmnicholas39@att.net

Saunders Jr., Richard L.

Professor Emeritus and Alumni Master Teacher
Ph.D., University of Illinois (1971)
Email: airedal@clemson.edu
Office: 116 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153

Suggs, Henry Lewis

Professor Emeritus of American History
Ph.D., University of Virginia (1976)
Email: Suggs314@aol.com

Taylor-Shockley, Megan

Professor
Ph.D., University of Arizona (2000)
Email: mshockl@clemson.edu
Office: 104 Hardin Hall
Phone: (864) 656-3153
Research Interests: Public History, U.S. Women’s History, Labor

Waller, Robert A.

Professor of History Emeritus, Dean of Liberal Arts College Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Illinois (1963)

Staff

Carter, Jeannette

Fiscal Tech. II
Email: Jeannec@clemson.edu
Phone: 864/656-3153

Marcus, Sheri E.

Administrative Coordinator
Email: ssheri@clemson.edu
Phone: 864/656-7538