Skip to main content

Faculty


Chair

Oropesa, Salvador A., Ph.D.

Professor of Spanish; Department Chair
Ph.D., Arizona State University
Email: oropesa@clemson.edu
Office: 716 Strode Tower
Phone: 864-656-3544

American Sign Language

Clements, Bo

Lecturer of ASL
MS - Arts Administration/Art Education, Florida State University (1994)
Email: wrcleme@clemson.edu
Office: 702 Strode

Cripps, Jody

Assistant Professor of ASL
Ph.D., University of Arizona (2008)
Curriculum Vitae
Email: jcripps@clemson.edu
Office: 309 Strode

Fitzmaurice, Stephen, Ph.D., CI, CT, NIC:A, NAD V, Ed:K12

Assistant Professor of Interpreting: ASL
Ph.D., Gallaudet University
Email: sfitzma@clemson.edu
Office: 705 Strode; UCG CU105
Phone: 864-431-7778

Hurdich, Jason, M.Ed, CDI (RID Certified Deaf Interpreter)

Lecturer of ASL
M.Ed. Signed Language Interpretation, University of North Florida (2013)
Email: jhurdic@clemson.edu
Office: 702 Strode

Misener Dunn, Kim

Section Head, Senior Lecturer of American Sign Language
ABD (Critical Studies in the Education for Deaf Learners), Gallaudet University
Email: kmisene@clemson.edu

Chinese

An, Yanming

Professor of Chinese & Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Curriculum Vitae
Email: yanming@clemson.edu
Office: 614 Strode

Chen, Su-I

Senior Lecturer of Chinese; Director of Language Lab
Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook
Email: schen@clemson.edu
Office: 215 Daniel
Phone: 864-656-2852

Rao, Ling, Ph.D.

Lecturer of Chinese
Ph.D., University of Georgia (2016)
Email: lingr@clemson.edu
Office: 320 Daniel

Zhang, Yanhua

Associate Professor of Chinese
Ph.D., University of Hawaii
Email: yhzhang@clemson.edu
Office: 304 Strode

French

Mai, Joseph H.

Associate Professor of French
Ph.D., Yale University (2004)
Email: jmai@clemson.edu
Office: 509 Strode

Peebles, Kelly Digby

Associate Professor of French, Director of L&IH Program
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Email: kpeeble@clemson.edu
Office: 504 Strode

Salces y Nedeo, Anne Carole

Lecturer of French, Declamation Committee member, French Club Faculty Advisor
Foreign Language Didactics, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle, Paris
Email: asalces@clemson.edu
Office: 320 Daniel

Sawyer, Amy Lyn Griffin

Senior Lecturer of French
M.A., University of Georgia (1999)
Email: agriff2@clemson.edu
Office: 316 Daniel

Tholozany, Pauline De, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of French
Ph.D., Brown University (2011)
Curriculum Vitae
Email: pdethol@clemson.edu
Office: 512 Strode

Touya, Eric R

Professor of French; Chevalier des Palmes Académiques
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Email: etouya@clemson.edu
Office: 505 Strode

Widgren, Kenneth

Senior Lecturer of French
Ph.D., University of Georgia, Athens
Email: kwidgre@clemson.edu
Office: 316 Daniel

German

Ferrell, J Lee

BMW Senior Lecturer of German; Director of LAIB Program
M.A., University of South Carolina (2000)
Email: ferrell@clemson.edu
Office: 501 Strode
Phone: 864-656-3421

King, Harris

Lecturer of German; German Club Advisor
M.A., University of South Carolina (2000)
Email: oswaldk@clemson.edu
Office: 320 Daniel

Love, Jeff

Research Professor of German and Russian
Ph.D., Yale University
Email: gjlove@clemson.edu

Schmidt, Johannes

Professor of German
Ph.D. in German Literature, University of Hamburg (1999)
Email: schmidj@clemson.edu
Office: 704 Strode

Stoicea, Gabriela

Assistant Professor of German
Ph.D., Yale University
Email: stoicea@clemson.edu
Office: 513 Strode

Italian

Barattoni, Luca

Associate Professor of Italian
Ph.D., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Email: lbaratt@clemson.edu
Office: 303 Strode

Risso, Roberto, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Italian
Dottorato di Ricerca (Ph D) Letteratura Italiana, Università di Torino (ITA) (2010)
Email: rrisso@clemson.edu
Office: 301 Strode

Schmidt, Julia

Lecturer of Italian
MA in Art History, Romance Languages and Public Law, University of Kiel (Germany)
Email: schmid3@clemson.edu
Office: 704 Strode

Japanese

Saito, Kumiko, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Japanese
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Curriculum Vitae
Email: ksaito@clemson.edu
Office: 308 Strode

Saito, Satomi, Ph.D.

Lecturer of Japanese
Ph.D., University of Iowa (2007)
Email: ssaito@clemson.edu
Office: 215 Daniel

Suto, Saori

Lecturer of Japanese
M.A in Linguistics, California State University, Long Beach (2016)
Email: ssuto@clemson.edu
Office: 320 Daniel

Takeuchi, Jae

Assistant Professor of Japanese
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison (2015)
Email: JTAKEUC@clemson.edu
Office: 313 Strode

Latin

Tuite, Kenneth

Lecturer
Ph.D Classics, University of Texas at Austin
Email: ktuite@clemson.edu
Office: 320 Daniel

Russian

Morris, Stephanie

Lecturer of Russian
M.A., Indiana University (2016)
Email: semrrs@clemson.edu
Office: 706 Strode

Volkova, Olga

Lecturer of Russian
Ph.D. in Comparative Literature, Indiana University (2014)
Curriculum Vitae
Email: ovolkov@clemson.edu
Office: 706 Strode

Spanish

Anido, Raquel

Associate Professor of Spanish
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Email: ranido@clemson.edu
Office: 510 Strode

Cruz Valderramos, Zenia, M.A.

Lecturer of Spanish
M.A. (Spanish Literature), Universidad de Jaén, Espana
Curriculum Vitae
Email: zcruzva@clemson.edu
Office: 316 Daniel

Flores, Yezid, M.Ed.

Lecturer of Spanish
B.A. Secondary Education (Spanish), Clemson University (2011)
Email: yflores@clemson.edu
Office: 215 Daniel

Garcia-Rodriguez, Alma

Lecturer of Spanish
Ph.D. in Spanish, University of Florida (2017)
Email: aygarci@clemson.edu
Office: 320 Daniel

Garcia-Vieyra, Daniel

Lecturer of Spanish
M.Ed., James Madison University (2018)
Email: ddgarci@clemson.edu
Office: 215 Daniel

Hernández, Liliana

Lecturer of Spanish and Student Advisor
Email: liliana@clemson.edu
Office: 603 Strode

Judez Riquelme, Maria Rosa, M.D.

Lecturer of Spanish and Health
Email: mjudezr@clemson.edu
Office: 316 Daniel

Miller, Tiffany D. Creegan

Assistant Professor of Spanish
Ph.D., University of Kansas (2014)
Email: tiffan4@clemson.edu
Office: 310 Strode

Miller, Ana Paula

Lecturer of Spanish; Schedule Coordinator
MA in Foreign Languages & Literature, University of Memphis (2012)
Email: ana2@clemson.edu
Office: 715 Strode
Phone: (864)656-1670

Moore de Peralta, Arelis, MD, PhD, MPH, MEd.

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Community Health
Email: ared@clemson.edu
Office: 504 Strode Tower

Naranjo, Andrea

Lecturer of Spanish
L.L.B - Bachelor of Laws, Universidad de San buenaventura, Cali, Colombia.
Email: anaranj@clemson.edu
Office: 603 Strode

Ortiz-Rosario, José Luis

Lecturer of Spanish
MA, University of Illinois-Chicago (2002)
Email: jlortiz@clemson.edu
Office: 215 Daniel

Palacios, George, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Spanish
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh (2013)
Email: gpalaci@clemson.edu
Office: 515 Strode

Persico, Melva, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
Ph.D. Romance Studies (Spanish), University of Miami
Email: mpersic@clemson.edu
Office: 215 Daniel

Pillcurima, Rosa

Lecturer of Spanish; Sigma Delta Pi Faculty Adviser
M.A., University of Florida (2018)
Email: rpillcu@clemson.edu
Office: 316 Daniel

Rojas de Massei, Mónica M.

Rojas de Massei, Mónica M.

Associate Professor of Spanish
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Email: mmassei@clemson.edu
Office: 503 Strode

Schmucker, Ellory

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
MA Spanish, University of South Carolina (2010)
Curriculum Vitae
Email: eschmuc@clemson.edu
Office: 205E Strode

Smith, Daniel J.

Associate Professor of Spanish
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Email: daniels@clemson.edu
Office: 508 Strode

Tejera, Mercedes

Lecturer of Spanish
M.A., University of Arkansas
Email: mtejera@clemson.edu
Office: 316 Daniel

Tissera, Graciela E

Associate Professor of Spanish (on sabbatical for Spring of 2018)
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Email: gtisser@clemson.edu
Office: 713 Strode

Williamson, Debra

Lecturer of Spanish
M.A. in Spanish, University of Southern Mississippi
Email: DEBRA4@clemson.edu
Office: 320 Daniel

Staff

Hammond, Deborah L

Fiscal Analyst
Email: dhammo2@clemson.edu
Office: 714 Strode
Phone: 864-656-2626

Harvey, Julia

Academic Advisor
Email: jmdingl@clemson.edu
Office: 703 Strode
Phone: 864-656-6433

Kinard, Madeline

Administrative Coordinator
Email: mskinar@clemson.edu
Office: 717 Strode Tower
Phone: 864-656-3393

Spainhour, Susie, M.Ed., NIC

Project Coordinator, South Carolina Educational Interpreting Center, Clemson University
M.Ed., Columbia College
Email: zspainh@clemson.edu
Office: University Center of Greenville, 225 S. Pleasantburg Drive Suite A6 Greenville, SC 29607
Phone: 864-250-8890

Suits, Heather

Administrative Assistant, South Carolina Educational Interpreting Center, Clemson University
Email: hmack@clemson.edu
Office: University Center of Greenville, 225 S. Pleasantburg Drive Suite A6 Greenville, SC 29607
Phone: 864-250-8890

Retired and Emeritus Faculty

Adams, Clementina R.

Professor of Spanish
Ph.D., Florida State University
Email: adamsc@clemson.edu

Arnold, Ed

Arnold, Ed

Emeritus Professor of German
Email: miriamed5@aol.com
Phone: 864-639-6235

Bednar, John, Professor Emeritus

Director of Language and International Trade and Professor of French
B.A. English, Princeton University (1965)
Email: jcb_clemson@hotmail.com
Office: Home: 111 Rowland Drive, Central, SC 29630
Phone: 864-650-1036

Brant, William A., Ed.D.

Senior Lecturer of American Sign Language
Ed.D., University of South Carolina

Bridgwood, Joan, D.M.L.

Senior Lecturer of Russian
D.M.L., Middlebury College (2001)
Email: bjoan@clemson.edu

Cranston, Mechthild, Ph. D.

Professor of French, Chevalier des Palmes Académiques, Member of Phi Beta Kappa, Member of the Emeritus College at Clemson
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Email: cransto@g.clemson.edu

Harris, Scott K

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
M.A.T., University of South Carolina
Email: harriss@clemson.edu

Heusinkveld, Paula R.

Professor Emerita of Spanish
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Email: prheus@g.clemson.edu
Phone: 864-723-4336

Hurley, Joni K

Hurley, Joni K

Associate Professor of Spanish
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Kishimoto, Toshiko

Associate Professor of Japanese
M.Ed., University of Massachusetts
Email: ktoshik@clemson.edu

McNatt, Jo Ann

Associate Professor Emeritus of French and Spanish
Ph.D., University of North Carolina (UNC) - Chapel Hill
Email: jamcnat@yahoo.com

Robison, Cathy A

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
M.A., University of Georgia
Email: crobiso@clemson.edu

Szmurlo, Karyna

Szmurlo, Karyna

Professor of French
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Zaczek, Barbara M.

Professor of Italian
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Email: bzaczek@clemson.edu

In Memoriam

Sinka, Margit

Professor of German
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: smargit@clemson.edu