Winners Honored in Graduate Student Competition

Student winners in the 2009 Cotton Insect Research and Control Conference
Student winners in the 2009 Cotton Insect Research and Control Conference oral presentation competition were from left: Richard Reeves, Kyle Fontenot, Bradley Hopkins and John Smith.

MEMPHIS (Special) – Students at four universities captured honors in the oral presentation competition of the 2009 Beltwide Cotton Insect Research and Control Conference. Dow AgroSciences sponsored this 9th year of competition, which took place in one of the 11 cotton technical conferences that convened at the recent 2009 Beltwide Cotton Conferences in San Antonio.

In the Gary Herzog Memorial Ph.D. competition, Bradley W. Hopkins of Texas A&M University won first place and $500 for “Resistance to Pyrethroid Insecticides in Helicoverpa zea (Boddie) (Lepidoptera: Noctuidae).” John Frederick Smith of Mississippi State University was awarded $250 and honorable mention for “Cotton Yield Loss from Mid-to-Late Season Twospotted Spider Mite Damage.”

In the Stacy Hall Memorial Masters competition, Richard Reeves of Clemson University received $400 for his first place presentation, “Spatial-Temporal Analysis of Stink Bug Populations in Cotton.” Kyle A. Fontenot of Louisiana State University received honorable mention and $200 for his presentation, “Evaluating Tarnished Plant Bug Distribution within Cotton Plants Post-Insecticide Application.”

The winners’ professors are:  Roger Leonard, LSU; Jeremy Greene, Clemson; Patricia Pietrantonio, Texas A&M; and Angus Catchot and Fred Musser, Mississippi State.

The Ph.D. competition was renamed in 2002 in honor of the late Dr. Gary Herzog, a University of Georgia professor and researcher. The Masters competition was renamed in 2001 in honor of the late LSU student Stacy Hall.

The Insect Research and Control Conference competition is designed to encourage outstanding graduate work in cotton entomology and promote graduate student attendance at the National Cotton Council-coordinated annual Beltwide Cotton Conferences. Greene, associate professor at Clemson University, chaired the Student Awards Committee while Gus Lorenz, University of Arkansas, and John Adamczyk, USDA-ARS, were co-chairpersons for the Insect Research and Control Conference.