

June 5, 2025: UPDATE FROM INTERNATIONAL SERVICES

Upcoming U.S. Travel Restrictions Effective June 9, 2025

Restrictions on travel to the U.S. will go into effect on June 9, 2025, at 12:01 a.m. for Individuals from the following countries:

Afghanistan, Burundi, Chad, Cuba, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Haiti, Iran, Laos, Libya, Myanmar/Burma, Republic of Congo, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Togo, Turkmenistan, Venezuela, and Yemen.

Who is exempt?

Individuals from the affected countries may still travel to the U.S. if they are:

- In possession of a valid U.S. visa issued on or before June 9, 2025.
- Lawful permanent residents (Green Card holders).
- Dual nationals traveling on the passport of an unrestricted country.
- Covered under other <u>limited exceptions</u>.

Recommendations for Individuals from Affected Countries

We strongly recommend avoiding all non-essential international travel if you:

- Are from a country included in the restriction and
- Hold an expired U.S. visa.

The travel restriction will be reviewed within 90 days of June 4, 2025, and every 180 days thereafter. However, leaving the U.S. under these conditions will prevent returning to the U.S. for at least 90 days and may prevent your return indefinitely.

Remember to look for updates on the International Services <u>website</u>, the U.S. Department of State <u>website</u>, and if applicable to the appropriate resources of the country issuing your passport.

We deeply value the contributions of our international students, faculty, scholars, and staff that enrich the Clemson community and strengthen our campus life. If you have questions or need clarity on current immigration issues, please contact us at <u>International Services</u> to arrange a meeting.