

# 2025 HONORS AND AWARDS

April 15, 2025 6:00 p.m. Clemson University Self Auditorium Dean of the College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences

Leslie Hossfeld, PhD Dean

# Presiding

Denise Anderson, PhD Associate Dean

# **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Ashley McKenzie - Department of Communication Angela Newton - School of Nursing Matthew Brownlee - Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management Laura Olson - Department of Political Science Jennifer Grandits - Department of Psychology Ralph Welsh - Department of Public Health Sciences Holly Williams - Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice

# **DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS**

### DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION Deanna Sellnow, PhD Chair

THE COMMUNICATION FACULTY BOOK AWARD MADDALYN KNAACK

OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD IN COMMUNICATION BOWEN TURNER

THE COMMUNICATION OUTSTANDING GRADUATE STUDENT AWARD ALEXIS MERRIMAN

DAVID MALCOLM GEDDES/MARK RODERICK MEMORIAL AWARD ARIANA PENSY

> OUTSTANDING GRADUATE RESEARCHER AWARD TIMOTHY WHIMS

OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD IN SPORTS COMMUNICATION **KATHERINE COTTRELL** 

THE DORIS IRENE GEDDES AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN WOMEN AND COMMUNICATION **TAYLOR ERDMAN**  SCHOOL OF NURSING John Whitcomb, PhD

Director

HERBERT N. SHEARIN MEMORIAL AWARD JESSICA SUMMERFORD

EUGENE EDWARDS MEMORIAL AWARD GRACE NORTON

> COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARDS MADELINE BODKIN CHRISTOPHER CONRICK BRENDA GONZALES-REYES LILIAN O'DELL SARAH WHITELOCK

### CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION FOR EXCELLENCE IN NURSING SAMANTHA BLACK ANNA GRACE BONEY ABIGAIL HIGBIE GRACE HOLLAND MIA SUTTON

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS, RECREATION AND TOURISM MANAGEMENT Bob Barcelona, PhD Chair

BERT AND JOHNNIE BRANTLEY OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARD ROBERT MARTIN MEGAN VICKERY

> STEVENSON-SMITH-LOVETT AWARD LUCY HART

> GREG SCHOPER LEADERSHIP AWARD CHANDLER JORDAN

JUDITH VOELKL SCHOLARSHIP AWARD ALYSSA FENTON

LAWRENCE R. ALLEN ENGAGED FUTURE PROFESSIONAL AWARD **SARAH SHAWVER** 

FRAN MCGUIRE EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARD KELLY ALVIDREZ LESLIE HEFFINGTON

### DEPARTMENT OF SOCIOLOGY, ANTHROPOLOGY AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE Katy Weisensee, PhD Chair

ERNEST JEWELL HARDESTY MOORE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING SENIOR IN SOCIOLOGY ZARIA BLAIN

LARSON-KRUPKA AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN SOCIOLOGY REESE ROBINSON

OUTSTANDING ANTHROPOLOGY STUDENT AWARD NOVA MILLER

OUTSTANDING CRIMINAL JUSTICE STUDENT AWARD CARSYN CLYBURN

> DEPARTMENT CHAIR'S AWARD ABBY CURRAN LUKE GARDEN

### **DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHOLOGY**

Pat Raymark, PhD Chair

THE BERNARD CAFFREY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PSYCHOLOGY LAUREN DESING TAYLOR RENE PACE

PSYCHOLOGY DEPARTMENT AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE JULIA JAMIESON MARGARET ROSINSKI ALLISON MELISSA SMITH OLIVIA WILSON

ERNEST JEWELL HARDESTY MOORE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING SENIOR IN PSYCHOLOGY MADELYN BRANCATO

> THE EUGENE GALLUSCIO AWARD FOR UNDERGRADUATE LEADERSHIP GRACE DROLET

> OUTSTANDING MASTER'S DEGREE STUDENT IN PSYCHOLOGY AWARD HAILEY CARROLL CONNIE KU ALEXIS LAMERE

OUTSTANDING DOCTORAL STUDENT IN PSYCHOLOGY AWARD YIZHOU LIU REBECCA POOL

> PSI CHI RESEARCH AWARD SAVANNAH DIGGETT KATE SODERLUND

GRADUATE STUDENT RESEARCH PAPER AWARD BAYLOR GRAHAM YIZHOU LIU

### DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCE Joe Ura, PhD Chair

JAMES F. BYRNES AWARD AVERI BRICE

THE MATT LOCKE FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE ELENI ROUVELAS

> JACK TUTTLE - PI SIGMA ALPHA AWARD DAVID RUCK

> > HORACE FLEMING AWARD LUCIA HENRIQUEZ

VLADIMIR MATIC AWARD FOR INTERNATIONAL ENGAGEMENT BOWEN TURNER

AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE BY A TEACHING ASSISTANT **PATRICIA NG'ETHE** 

OUTSTANDING GRADUATE STUDENT TEACHING AWARD ANDREW TATE

JOE STEWART AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING PAPER BY A GRADUATE STUDENT **DUNJA ARANDJELOVIC** 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH SCIENCES Wiley Jenkins, PhD Chair

> DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD JASMINE SAMPSON

SCHOLASTIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD NICOLE SOPALA

DR. LEE CRANDALL LEADERSHIP AWARD ALLISON BELLAIRE

OUTSTANDING HEALTH PROMOTION AND BEHAVIOR STUDENT AWARD **IVAN HUERTA** 

RISING OUTSTANDING HEALTH PROMOTION AND BEHAVIOR STUDENT AWARD AMY BROOME

OUTSTANDING HEALTH SERVICES ADMINISTRATION STUDENT AWARD SAVANNAH FLY LAUREN SIZEMORE

OUTSTANDING PRE-PROFESSIONAL HEALTH STUDIES AWARD ZOE VICKERY

RISING OUTSTANDING PRE-PROFESSIONAL HEALTH STUDIES AWARD BLYTHE BACON

## **COLLEGE AWARDS**

PHI KAPPA PHI Robert Martin Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism Management

> BLUE KEY ACADEMIC LEADERSHIP AWARD Samantha Luhn School of Nursing

OUTSTANDING UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCHER AWARD Grace Drolet Department of Psychology

UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AWARD Carsyn Clyburn Department of Sociology, Anthropology & Criminal Justice

> DEAN'S AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT Savannah Diggett Department of Psychology

AWARD FOR ENTREPRENEURSHIP IN COMMUNITY SERVICE Maddalyn Knaack Department of Communication

> AWARD FOR PROFESSIONAL ENGAGEMENT Louis Fisher Department of Public Health Sciences

UNDERGRADUATE EMERGING LEADER AWARD Kellan Fenegan Department of Political Science

OUTSTANDING TEACHING ASSISTANT, MASTER'S STUDENT Sydney Hopkins Department of Communication

OUTSTANDING RESEARCHER, MASTER'S STUDENT Hailey Carroll Department of Psychology

OUTSTANDING TEACHING ASSISTANT, DOCTORAL STUDENT Kelly Alvidrez Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism Management

> OUTSTANDING RESEARCHER, DOCTORAL STUDENT Yizhou Liu Department of Psychology