Skip to main content



Undergraduate Advising

Dr. Alan Coulson, 339 Brackett Hall, 864.656.1897,

New Geology Curriculums (effective Aug 2014)

Basic Geology Curriculum
Hydrogeology Curriculum
Environmental Science Curriculum

Undergraduate Awards

The faculty annually make two awards to undergraduate geology students. The Thomas F. Logan, Jr. Geology Merit Award is presented to a senior majoring in geology with outstanding achievement in geology and possessing personal attributes necessary for successful accomplishments in this discipline. The award is given in memory of Thomas F. Logan, Jr., a 1965 graduate of Clemson University. He was killed in an automobile accident just prior to receiving his PhD from the University of Georgia, and he would have been the first PhD graduate in geology from that institution.

The Jean G. Stillwell Award is given to the outstanding junior majoring in geology. The award was established in memory of Jean G. Stillwell, who graduated from Clemson in geology in 1982, then taught as a Lecturer in Geology until her death from cancer in 1993.

Recipients for the two awards are selected by the faculty each spring from a list of eligible students. Both awards are normally presented at the Honors and Awards ceremony for the College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences in early April. For a full list of award recipients for these and other departmental awards, please look here.