Download Adobe Reader

Freeman Endowment

Academic Achievement Award

Clemson University Foundation - Edwin J. Freeman Student Development Fund

Established by Edwin J. Freeman, this endowment supports a variety of student awards administered by the Department of Industrial Engineering.  These annual awards include the Academic Achievement Awards and the Kimbler Undergraduate Research Award

Academic Achievement Awards

These awards recognize superior academic performance based upon grade point average. The Sophomore and Junior Awards recognize individuals with the highest grade point average in their class. The Senior Award recognizes the outstanding individual with a grade point average greater than 3.5 and other outstanding achievements.

Award Recipients - Academic Achievement
Year Sophomore Junior Senior
2017 Emily Huffer Jake Flynn  Ashley Bryson 
2016 Bryce Safrit Ashley Bryson Shannon Kay
2015 Ashley Bryson Shannon Kay Clara Waddell
2014 Laura M. Jameson Clara D. Waddell Jacey R. Gombert
2013 Nora E. Harris Lauren P. DeZervos Kyle H. Lassiter
2012 Kylie M. Gomes
Jacey R. Gombert Lauren M. Kaszak
2011 Jacey R. Gombert Brian E. Jones Nathaniel A. Curd
2010 Lauren M. Kaszak
Kyle H. Lassister
Brian E. Jones Whitney R. Darby
Mary Beth McLeod
Joshua S. VonFange
2009 Brian E. Jones
Nathaniel A. Curd
Joshua P. Neal
Whitney R. Darby
Mary Beth McLeod
2008 Jessica L. Shaffer
Rahul C. Karanth
Joshua P. Neal
Whitney R. Darby
Anna Sparks
2007 Jennifer M. Tate Anna B. Sparks Oliver Basic
Laura Young
2006 Ashley M. O'Brien Sarah J. Grigg Christian M. Buchmann
2005 Sarah J. Grigg
Laura R. Young
Ashley N. Potts Sarah A. Canterbury
2004 Ashley N. Potts
Sarah A. Canterbury Mary J. Runkle
2003 Marisa L. Kikendall Michael G. Corley Samuel A. Long
2002 Kerry McGuire James Glenn
Kristen Kelley
Laura Mosher
2001 Michael G. Corley
James R. Glenn, Jr.
Laura C. Mosher Casey X. Young
2000 Martie G. Hudson Catherine E. McClendon Spencer N. Bernstein

Kimbler Undergraduate Research Award

This award is sponsored by an endowment from Delbert L. and the late Elisabeth D. Kimbler designated as a part of the Freeman fund. The purpose of the award is to encourage research by undergraduate industrial engineering students by recognizing superior examples of undergraduate research in publication. The award recipient is selected by a faculty committee.

Award Recipients - Kimbler Undergraduate Research Award
Year Recipient(s)
Amanda Farthing
2016 Morris Lee
2015 Mary “Ali” Hobbs
2013 Kyle H. Lassiter
2012 Jacey R. Gombert, Michelle A. Jahn
2011 Rachael A. Bedosky
2010 Matthew S. Colombo, Matthew T. Kepple, Jonathan R. Starnes, Jennifer M. Tate
2009 Marissa N. Grubb, Lindsay K Balint, Audrey M. Berger
2008 James D. Banks, Jaclyn D. Brenes, Lindsey C. Daniels
2007 Lindsay Becker, Jaclyn Brenes, Michelle Hatcher
2006 Lindsay M. Becker, Jaclyn D. Brenes, Michelle Hatcher, Candice C. Hein, Matthew B. Johnson, Desiree G. Steinmann


The awards will be presented at the annual IE Annual Awards Ceremony, held in conjunction with Honors and Awards Week each spring.

Apply for Awards

Students wishing to be considered for the awards should submit an application form at the beginning of each fall and spring semester. Updates may be submitted at any time. Students who graduate in December must submit their application before leaving campus to be considered for applicable awards in the spring semester.

Bowen Award

Award winners are selected on the basis of information submitted by applicants using the Awards Application Form (MS Word Document) and the Student Information Form (.pdf document). Both the documents should be electronically submitted to the Awards Committee Chair, Dr. Kevin Taaffe.

Clemson Forever

Make An Online Gift Now!