I. Dwaine Eubanks Emeritus College Fellows

This award, named in honor of former EC director, Dr. I. Dwaine Eubanks, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, recognizes emeritus faculty members who steadily render valuable service without compensation to the Emeritus College and beyond. The designation of Emeritus College Fellow has been created to honor those individuals.

Class of 2022 Fellows

Dr. Victoria Ridgeway Gillis

Dr. Gillis receives her award

Dr. Gillis, Professor Emerita of Literacy and Learning and director of the Center for Excellence in Literacy and Learning. Dr. Gillis provides insight and problem-solving skills that contribute to the ongoing operations and successful programming of the Emeritus College. As the chair of the Emeritus College 20th Anniversary Task Force, she is leading the effort to create a collection of essays by emeritus faculty. The 20th Anniversary project, Moments and Memories of Clemson University Faculty, is a collection of emeriti's stories incorporating memories or moments of their professional lives as members of the Clemson University faculty. The essays paint a collective portrait of Clemson during the past six decades. As one of our colleagues has suggested, faculty memories reveal interesting and essential elements about the fabric of our lives and careers at the University.

In addition, Dr. Gillis serves on the Emeritus College Advisory Board; has contributed to the programming of the Emeritus College with several presentations including presentations on reading and literacy issues, and the Quilts of Valor Foundation. Quilts of Valor, made by Victoria, honor many of the veterans that served in Vietnam, some of whom had been classmates of Victoria's. During the Emeritus Day ceremony, Dr. Gillis presented to the Emeritus College a quilt based on the framework of the Quilts of Valor to be displayed in the College.

Dr. Donald McKale

Dr. McKale holding his award

Dr. McKale, Professor Emeritus of History, has served on the Emeritus College Advisory Board, which he chaired in 2019-2020. He also served on the Executive Director Search Committee and Program Planning committee. Don is always willing to lend a hand when the college needs help. Dr. McKale was honored with his selection as an honorary member of the Class of '39 in 2006. In 2017, Dr. McKale published a guest column in the Greenville News about Ben Skardon as Ben celebrated his 100th birthday. It is Dr. McKale's ongoing relationship with the University and the Emeritus College that is recognized in his selection as a Eubanks Fellow.

Don is an active member of the Clemson Sertoma Club, serving as Board Chair, as well as the working with the annual Christmas Tree sales project for the Sertoma Club. The funds raised by Sertoma support Camp Hope, providing wonderful life changing opportunities for children with hearing disabilities. Camp Hope occurs each summer at Clemson's Outdoor Lab. Dr. McKale has been a long-time supporter of Boy Scout Troop 235 helping raise funds in support of scouting events.

Ms. Marty Duckenfield

Dr. Duckenfield receives her award

Ms. Duckenfield currently serves on the Emeritus College Advisory Board; a member of the Program Committee and the task force for the 20th Anniversary of the Emeritus College. As an outreach of the planning committee, Ms. Duckenfield identified and promoted special interest groups for emeriti. She leads the Memoir Writing group for the Emeritus College. This interest group supports individuals as they write their memoirs. The positive work and conversations in the groups monthly meetings led to the adoption of the 20th anniversary project. Marty's creativity and her abilities to encourage others to write makes a difference for emeritus colleagues.

The Christopher J. Duckenfield Scholarship Program, funded by Marty and her family, support two students each year to St. Peter's College in Oxford England. Marty has arranged for graduates of the program to make presentations to the Emeritus College, creating a valuable connection with Oxford. ZOOM allows St Peter's College faculty to join us as their former students report on their research and life changing experiences the Duckenfield Scholarship Program provides.

Dr. Michael Ellison

Dr. Ellison receives his award

Dr. Ellison, Professor Emeritus of Materials Science and Engineering, currently serves on the Emeritus College Advisory Board and as a current member of the Emeritus College Awards Committee. Dr. Ellison is known for his strong commitment to interdisciplinary research. Prior to his retirement in 2014, Dr. Ellison served as interim director of the School of MS&E. He led an interdisciplinary research team studying biologically inspired advanced materials. Dr. Ellison continues this commitment to interdisciplinary work in the Emeritus College promoting and encouraging programs and activities that engage faculty from across disciplines. A primary goal of the college is to reach out and engage with faculty from all colleges and departments, and Mike supports these efforts. Dr. Ellison received the Theodore von Karman Fellowship of Exploratory Research Space at RWTH Achen University.

Dr. Robert Hogan

Dr. Hogan shakes Bill Stringer's hand

Dr. Robert Hogan, Professor Emeritus of Architecture, served as Associate Chair of the School of Architecture, director of undergraduate studies, and acting associate dean of the college prior to his retirement in 2015. Dr. Hogan serves on the Emeritus College Advisory Board. He has served five years as a member of the Emeritus College Awards Committee and now is its chair. In addition, Bob is the faculty advisor for the student chapter of Habitat for Humanity Homecoming build on Bowman's field, having been in involved with the project for almost 30 years. Dr. Hogan continues to serve as an advisor for Alpha Phi Omega, the Service fraternity on Clemson's campus. Dr. Hogan consistently demonstrates his leadership, work ethic and strong commitment to serving the Emeritus College and Clemson University.


Class of 2021 Fellows

  • Sterling "Skip" Eisiminger, Professor Emeritus of English
  • Lucy Eubanks, Lecturer Retired, Chemistry
  • Hoke Hill, Jr., Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Sciences
  • Calvin Schoulties, Professor Emeritus of Plant Pathology and Physiology and Dean, CAFLS
  • Jerry Trapnell, Professor Emeritus of Accountancy and Dean, COB

Inaugural Class of 2020 Fellows

  • Adolph L. Beyerlein, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
  • Harold E. Cheatham, Professor Emeritus and Dean, College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences
  • "Chip" S.M. Egan, Alumni Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Performing Arts and Dean, College Architecture, Arts and Humanities
  • Bonnie J. Holaday, Professor Emerita of Nursing and Dean, Graduate School
  • Cecil O. Huey, Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
  • Delbert "Del" L. Kimbler, Professor Emeritus of Industrial Engineering
  • Gary L. Powell, Professor Emeritus of Genetics and Biochemistry
  • M. Elaine Richardson, Professor Emerita of Animal and Veterinary Sciences and Director, Academic Success Center
  • Dennis "Steve" E. Stevenson, Associate Professor Emeritus of Computer Sciences
  • Stuart Silvers, Professor Emeritus of Philosophy