Skip to main content

Institute for Global Road Safety and Security (CU-IGRSS)

  • Clemson University Automotive Safety Research Institute
  • Clemson University Automotive Safety Research Institute
  • Clemson University Automotive Safety Research Institute
  • Clemson University Automotive Safety Research Institute
  • Clemson University Automotive Safety Research Institute
  • Clemson University Automotive Safety Research Institute
  • Clemson University Automotive Safety Research Institute
  • Clemson University Automotive Safety Research Institute

IGRSS Advancement Board

Dr. Ralph D. Elliott - Chairman
Director, ESMI
Vice Provost for Off-Campus, Distance, and Continuing Education and Professor of Economics, Emeritus
Clemson University
Clemson, SC

Dr. Lawrence R. Allen
Professor and Dean, Emeritus
Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
College of Health, Education, and Human Development
Clemson University
Clemson, SC
Senior Fellow, IGRSS

Dr. Melissa V. Avery, MD, MMM, FAAFP, CPE, FACPE
Physician, Family Medicine
Georgetown, KY

Ms. Dori Baumwart
CEO, Metalifics, LLC
Greenville, SC

Ms. Robin Bylenga, MHRD
Owner and CEO
Pedal Chic, LLC
Greenville, SC

Mr. Dan Cagle
Founder and CEO Tcc International
Chairman Emeritus AmCham Saudi Arabia
Former CEO and GM Lockheed Martin Middle East
Piedmont, SC

Mr. A. Neill Cameron
President, SCHA Solutions
Columbia, SC
Vice President for Advancement, Emeritus
Clemson University
Clemson, SC
Senior Fellow, IGRSS

Gregory K. Clodfelter, Col. US Army Retired
Founder, Alpha Performance, LLC
Anderson, SC

Mr. Thad Dulin
First Vice President – Wealth Management
UBS Financial Services Inc.
Greenville, SC

Mr. Timothy Finigan
Senior Director Performance Technology,
Operations & Maintenance,
Fluor Corporation
Greenville, SC

Dr. Lester A. Hudson, Jr.
Professor Emeritus of Strategy
Wayland H. Cato, Jr., Chair in Leadership
Queens University of Charlotte
Former President and Owner,
Wunda Weve
Greenville, SC

Dr. Daniel J. Levy, MD
Child and Teen Wellness Center
District III Vice Chairman,
American Academy of Pediatrics
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pediatrics,
University of Maryland
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics,
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

Ms. Julia Mason MBA, BSN, RN
Chief Nursing Officer
University Hospitals
Parma Medical Center
Parma, OH

Ms. Lauren McCarter
President and CEO, McCarter Services, LLC
Columbia, SC

Mr. Michael G. Mino
CEO, PropertyBoss Solutions, LLC
Greenville, SC

Dr. Thomas T. Peters
Executive Director
South Carolina’s Coalition for Mathematics & Science
Anderson, SC

Dr. J. Bruce Rafert
Professor of Physics and Provost, Emeritus
North Dakota State University
UGPTI, Transportation Safety Systems Center
Lakewood, CO
Senior Fellow, IGRSS

Mr. Kenneth B. Rogich
Managing Partner,
Latta Park Enterprises, LLC
Former Chief Financial Officer
Petty Holdings, LLC
Charlotte, NC

Mr. Kevin A. Shwedo, Col. US Army Retired
Executive Director, SCDMV
Columbia, SC

Dr. Thomas E. Simpson, MD, FACS
Physician, General Surgery
Winston-Salem, NC

Mr. Jim Smith
Executive Vice President, Emeritus
Wells Fargo & Company
Greenville, SC

Mr. Tony Stidham
President, Palmetto Profit Partners
Chapin, SC

Mr. Nick A. Theodore
Lt. Governor, Emeritus
of South Carolina
Greenville, SC

Mr. Curtis L. Thomas
Former Deputy Director,
SCDPS’s State Police
President, Carolina-Thomas Business Group, LLC
Columbia, SC

Mrs. Terecia W. Wilson
Director of Safety, SCDOT, Emeritus
Prosperity, SC
Senior Fellow, IGRSS

Welcome to the Clemson University Institute for Global Road Safety and Security (CU-IGRSS). We appreciate you visiting our site and taking the time to learn more about our institute.

CU-IGRSS was approved in 2002 as a new program for Clemson University by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education and is a “niche” area of Clemson University’s Automotive and Transportation Technology emphasis area. This interdisciplinary community of CU-IGRSS researchers produces knowledge that leads to new and more effective ways of improving the safety of the automotive and transportation environment by developing evidence-based countermeasures and products. The institute's unique structure addresses complex and interconnected challenges of the future of transportation safety where it is no longer possible for these issues to be solved in a single discipline or profession.


34th Annual 2016 Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA)IGRSS researchers once again participated in the Annual Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) Conference, an international student leadership program that is held each year at Erskine College campus in Due West, SC. RYLA 2016. This year’s conference was the 34th Annual RYLA Conference. RYLA's primary purpose is to provide leadership training and skills to young people, as well as, personal growth and development through interaction with peers and outstanding business, political, and community leaders.

Mark Peeler, Vice President Intercollegiate Athletics / Men’s Basketball Coach at Erskine College and RYLA Program Coordinator comments,

“We are fortunate to have our RYLA delegates experience this presentation by Dr. Alexander. It causes all of them to pause and think about the poor decisions made when getting behind the wheel of a car. There is no telling how many lives have been changed or saved by this presentation over the years. I don’t know that we have a more impactful presentation than this one every year at RYLA.”

The objectives are: Fundamentals of Leadership, Ethics of Positive Leadership, Importance of Communication Skills, Problem Solving and Conflict Management, Building Self Confidence and Self Esteem, and Service to the Community. Dr. Kim Alexander presented a risk perception workshop designed to offer specific strategies to decrease current and future risks associated with faulty decision making in traffic situations. Furthermore, Dr. Alexander and Dr. Pidgeon collected and analyzed data to determine the acquisition of safe driving knowledge and skills for participants of the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) leadership development program.

IGRSS researchers in 2016, published the results of two research studies: (1) run-off-road and recovery–state estimation and vehicle control strategies in the Journal of Vehicle System Dynamics and (2) automotive steering system preferences evaluated using a driving simulator in the International Journal of Automotive Technology. For more information, see Publications link.

William (Xinran) Tao, Thomas (Tian) Wang, and Julio Rodriguez at SAE Congress in Detroit, Michigan.
William (Xinran) Tao, Thomas (Tian) Wang, and Julio Rodriguez at SAE Congress in Detroit, Michigan.

Human Vehicle Chart

Make a Gift

2017 Designated Safety Weeks & Months

National Work Zone Awareness Week
April 3-7, 2017

National Distracted Driving Awareness Month
April 2017

Alcohol Awareness Month
April 2017

National Youth Traffic Safety Month
May 2017

Motorcycle Safety Awareness Month
May 2017

National Bike Safety Month
May 2017

Bike to School Day
May 10, 2017

Click It or Ticket Mobilization
May 22–June 4, 2017

National Police Week
May 7–20, 2017

EMS Week
May 21–27, 2017

Tire Safety Week

Ride to Work Day
June 19, 2017

Vehicle Theft Prevention Month
July 2017

National Stop on Red Week

Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over National Mobilization
August 18–September 3, 2017

Child Passenger Safety Week
September 17–September 23, 2017

National Seat Check Safety
September 23, 2017

Drive Safely Work Week
October 2–6, 2017

Walk to School Day
October 4, 2017

National Teen Driver Safety Week
October 15–21, 2017

National School Bus Safety Week
October 16–20, 2017

National Drunk & Drugged Driving Prevention Month (3D)
December 2017

Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over National Mobilization
December 13–31, 2017

For more information contact, Dr. Kim E. Alexander, Executive Director: Email:
Site maintained by, CECAS Webmaster: Email: