Senate Information

Senate Leadership and Membership

The Faculty Senate leaders are Kristine Vernon (President), Dave Blakesley (Vice President/President-Elect), and Hugo Sanabria (Secretary).

Senate terms begins with the April meeting. The Senate consists of 50 members — 35 full-time, tenure-track faculty and 14 non-voting, lecturer delegates. These elected representatives are expected to fulfill certain responsibilities.


Senate Committees

Each Senator and lecturer delegate serves on one of the Senate’s standing committees. The Senate’s officers – the President, Vice-President, and Secretary – along with lead senators, a second representative from each college, and committee chairs compose the Executive and Advisory Committees. These committees meet jointly once a month and act as a steering committee for the senate.

Communicating with the Senate and All Faculty

Meetings of the Faculty Senate are open to all faculty, and minutes are posted approximately one month after each Senate meeting.

There are several ways to formally communicate with the Senate, and, through the Senate, communicate with all faculty.

  • Attending monthly senate meetings
  • Requesting to give a Special Order presentation to the Faculty Senate Click Here
  • Participating in Free Speech period during a Faculty Senate meeting
  • Submitting an Open Forum essay

Faculty Representation on University Committees

A significant responsibility of the Faculty Senate is selecting or nominating faculty representatives to university committees. 

Senate Governing Documents

The actions of the Faculty Senate are governed by three documents: