Skip to main content

Faculty, Staff & Student Awards

Faculty Awards

Byars Prize Award

Requirements, in order to be eligible for this award, is that the teacher had to teach at least nine semester credit hours of engineering fundamentals course, as well as being appointed by their fellow faculty, students, and alumni.

Recipient 2018: Dr. Ashley Childers


Past Recipients

  • 2010: Dr. Beth Stephan

S.T.A.R Award

The S.T.A.R. Award is presented to a faculty or staff member who is Someone Terrific, Awesome, and Reliable and is a way to recognize sustained over-and-above contributions to the department. 

Recipient 2023: Dr. Will Martin and Jennifer Robertson


Past Recipients

  • 2022: Dr. Jon Harcum

Student Awards

Student Assistant of the Year Award

The Student Assistant of the Year is truly the cream of the crop of the General Engineering student workforce. They have served the department long enough and demonstrated consistently high levels of work ethic, pleasant attitude, and initiative that sets them apart from those who were named Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant or Outstanding Student Assistant.

Recipient 2023: Amber Oakley


Past Recipients

  • 2022: Quinn Heck
  • 2020: Abby Stephan
  • 2019: Za'Cori Ross
  • 2018: Joe Davis

Outstanding Student Assistant Award

This award goes to Student Assistants who not only excel in their work but show a good work ethic for the work they do for the General Engineering Department.

2023 Recipient: Eliza Martin


Past Recipients: 


  • Paul Windsor


  • Josh Wood


  • Kat Clark


  • Caroline Bales
  • Maggie Elpers
  • Karenna Smith
  • Past Recipients


  • Tyler Clay
  • Za'Cori Ross
  • Evan Straub

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award

This award is given to Undergraduate Teaching Assistants or UTA's that have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help students in class or when a UTA was particularly helpful or impactful during the evening UTA hours. This is our way of recognizing them for their outstanding work. Visit the UTA Tutoring page for more information.

2023 Recipients: 

  • Amber Oakley
  • Arlo Newton
  • Brandon Hucks
  • Jill Lee
  • Krista Henrie
  • Quinn Heck
  • Zach Moser

Past Recipients:


  • Annie Buck
  • Ryan Cook
  • Bianca Henline
  • Harrison Lambert 
  • Amanda Murray
  • Allison Patti
  • Noah Snyder


  • Quinn Heck
  • Josh Coleman
  • Rachel Burger
  • Sarah Bartro
  • Anna Buck
  • Cassidy Smith
  • Emily Cross


  • with distinction- Quinn Heck
  • Ryan Cook
  • Hannah Morilak
  • Sarah Bartro
  • Noah Snyder
  • Elizabeth Turner


  • Zach Clemets
  • Chase Harmon
  • Scott Rowe
  • Connor Staudmyer
  • Jill Weinstein


  • James Jolly,
  • Brock Stephan
  • Scott Rowe
  • Emily Cross
  • Ryan Gilbert

Outstanding Boyd Scholar Award

This award is presented to the most outstanding graduating senior who began in the Boyd Scholars Program and is based on their accomplishments including scholarship, leadership, engagement, and integrity in engineering. 

2023 Recipient: AJ Sanders