Fellows and Major Awards

National Academy of Engineering

Roger Stolen (MSE)

Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.


Optical Society of America

John Ballato (MSE)
Eric Johnson (ECE)
Kathleen Richardson (MSE)
Roger Stolen (MSE)

A fellow must be nominated by a present fellow in order to be considered.  The Fellow Members Committee considers the following criteria when evaluating nominations; no individual is expected to meet all of them. Each nominee is rated numerically on the basis of this information. Overall, the impact of the nominee’s achievements will be evaluated.

  • Evidence of scientific, technical, or engineering accomplishments
  • Significant inventions, discoveries, or advances in optics and photonics
  • Substantial innovation, creativity, and development, advancement or application of science and technology
  • Exceptional career as an educator or significant contributions to education
  • Sustained and substantial leadership to OSA or service to the global community, including industry
  • Entrepreneurial or business leadership critical in the development or growth of a segment of the optics and photonics industry
  • Record of important publications related to optics or photonics
  • Record of significant patents related to optics or photonics
  • Excellence in product development, advancement in systems, application or operation, project management, process development, or other application of technology
  • Outstanding engineering application or scientific accomplishments resulting from a managerial, team, or company-wide effort
  • Confidential opinions of references




Jeff Anker (Chemistry)
Stephen Foulger (MSE)
Rachel Getman (Chemical Engineering)
Jason McNeill (Chemistry)
Eric Johnson (ECE)
Jian Luo (MSE)
Rhett Smith (Chemistry)
Andy Tennyson (Chemistry)

CAREER: The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of the early career-development activities of those teacher-scholars who most effectively integrate research and education within the context of the mission of their organization. Such activities should build a firm foundation for a lifetime of integrated contributions to research and education. NSF encourages submission of CAREER proposals from junior faculty members at all CAREER-eligible organizations and especially encourages women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and persons with disabilities to apply.


American Ceramic Society

John Ballato (MSE)
Kathleen Richardson (MSE)
Jian Luo (MSE) 
Raj Singh (ECE)

Fellows shall be persons of good reputation who have reached their 35th birthday and who shall have been members of the Society at least five years continuously at the established nomination deadline date when nominated. They shall prove qualified for elevation to the grade of Fellow by reason of outstanding contributions to the ceramic arts or sciences; through broad and productive scholarship in ceramic science and technology, by conspicuous achievement in ceramic industry, or by outstanding service to the Society. 


SC Academy of Science

The Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Science honor specifically an individual or team within the state whose achievements and contributions to science in South Carolina merit special recognition and promote wider awareness of the quality and extent of scientific activity in South Carolina.  Candidates must currently be working in South Carolina or must have conducted a substantial portion of their work within the State.

Excellence in Scientific Research (ESR)

The award is made to a scientist whose contributions to scientific discovery merit special recognition and have impacted the respective discipline on a national and international basis. 

John Ballato (MSE)
Apparao Rao (Physics) 

Young Scientist Award for Excellence in Scientific Research (YESR)

This award is directed to a gifted young researcher (only those individuals who have completed no more than 12 years beyond the Ph.D.) who has demonstrated the potential for major contributions to his or her discipline.

Ya-Ping Sun (Chemistry)
Laine Mears (Automotive Engineering)
Brian Powell (Environmental Engineering) 


Class of 1939

John Ballato (MSE)

This award, to be made from the Class of 1939 Award for Excellence Endowment, is established in order to inspire the greatest possible level of achievement by members of the faculty of Clemson University. To this end, the Class of 1939 Award for Excellence will be presented annually to one distinguished member of the faculty whose outstanding contributions for a five year period have been judged by his or her peers to represent the highest achievement of service to the University, the Student Body, and the larger community, whether it be the town, state, or nation.

The Great Class of 1939 established the Award for Excellence in 1989 to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the class. The Great Class of 1939, itself characterized by remarkable service to Clemson University, the community, the state, and the nation, created this award to recognize and hopefully inspire faculty service above and beyond expectations.


American Ceramic Society

John Ballato (MSE)
Kyle Brinkman (MSE)

The award recognizes the nation’s outstanding young ceramic engineers whose achievements have been significant to the profession and to the general welfare of all people. Nominations are open to all branches of the ceramic industry. Nominations remain active for three consecutive years, they are dropped from the list. Any individual or group may submit one or more nominations.


International Society of Optical Engineering

John Ballato (MSE)
Eric Johnson (ECE)
Kathleen Richardson (MSE)
Raj Singh (ECE) 

Each year SPIE recognizes accomplishments and meritorious service in the optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging communities it serves.


American Association for the Advancement of Science /> </div> <div class=

Apparao Rao (Physics)

Fellow of the AAAS is an honor accorded by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) to distinguished persons who are members of the Association. Fellows are elected annually by the AAAS Council for "efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications [which] are scientifically or socially distinguished".   


Society of Glass Technology

Kathleen Richardson (MSE)

The Society of Glass Technology (SGT) is an organization for individuals and organizations with a professional interest in glass manufacture and usage. The Society is based in the United Kingdom, with its offices in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England, but it has a worldwide membership.  A Fellow is “individual members who have met prescribed requirements of education, achievement or service to the Industry and the Society”