Faculty Senate

The Class of ’39 Award for Excellence

Award for Excellence recipients

"This award, endowed by the Great Class of 1939 is presented annually to one distinguished member of the faculty whose outstanding contributions for a five-year period have been judged by her/his peers to represent the highest achievement of service to the student body, university and community, state or nation. The recipient also becomes an honorary member of the class and provided a monetary award equal to the value of $5,000 in 1989 dollars - in January 2014, this monetary award was $9,826. Recipients are recognized at one of the December graduation ceremonies and in a January ceremony at the ’39 Bell Tower in the Carillon Gardens.

The Great Class of 1939 established the Award for Excellence in 1989 to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the class. The Great Class of 1939, itself characterized by remarkable service to Clemson University, the community, the state, and the nation, created this award to recognize and hopefully inspire faculty service above and beyond expectations.

A call for nominations is sent from the Faculty Senate Office to all faculty early in the fall semester. For full details and a nomination form, refer to the Class of ’39 Award guidelines. The Faculty Senate President, in consultation with the Senate Advisory Committee appoints a Review Committee of five voting members to include two of the most recent winners, with the newest winner serving as chair. The Provost serves as an ex-officio, non-voting member.

Past Award Winners

John Ballato

2013 – John Ballato

John Ballato, Vice-President for Economic Development, embodies the ideal of faculty service. During his time at Clemson, Dr. Ballato has instructed more than a thousand students. He is distinguished researcher; Dr. Ballato has authored more than 150 peer-reviewed journal articles and 110 reviewed conference proceedings. He is the principal investigator on over $46 million in competitive extramural funding, and his research has been awarded 26 US and foreign patents. In recognition of his accomplishments, Dr. Ballato has received numerous awards, including the SC Governor’s Award for Excellence in Scientific Research. Dr. Ballato has also served Clemson’s faculty as Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees and as chair of a number of important university committees.

Windsor Sherill

2012 – Windsor Westbrook Sherrill

Windsor Westbrook Sherrill, Professor of Public Health Sciences, is characterized by a desire to serve. Dr. Sherrill has demonstrated a dedication to teaching throughout her tenure at Clemson. Her research has brought in more than $1.5 million in grants and has been published in numerous refereed publications, five book chapters, professional reports and scholarly presentations. Dr. Sherill has worked numerous public health organizations. From 2009-2012, she served as faculty representative to the Clemson board of trustees and has served on a number of university committees.

Other award winners include Richard Figliola (2011), Melanie M. Cooper (2010), Webb M. Smathers (2009), William (Bill) Pennington (2008), Alma Bennet (2007), Donald M. McKale (2006), Ben Sill (2005), Art Young (2004), Kinly Sturkie (2003), A.P (Hap) Wheeler (2002), Jerry Waldvogel (2001), Chip Egan (2000), Judy Melton (1999), Larry Bauer (1998), Chalmers Butler (1997), Larry LaForge (1996), Fran McGuire (1995), Cecil Huey (1994), Budd Bodine (1993), Ray Turner (1992), John Idol (1991), Joel Brawley (1990), and Dixie Goswami (1998).