Skip to main content

Endowed Chairs and Titled Professors

  • Bowman Field at Clemson University, Clemson South Carolina

Endowed Chairs and Titled Professors allow Clemson to attract and support eminent scholars of international reputation who enhance the quality of the University’s teaching, research and service activities. They initiate, encourage and support development of ideas and innovations, and they are teachers, mentors and role models for their students and colleagues.

The Endowed Chairs and Titled Professors Group

The Endowed Chairs and Titled Professors group meets typically once a month during the regular semesters with members of the upper administration to discuss issues of interest to both, to provide a sounding board to the administrators, and to help them elevate the reputation of the University. The group strongly believes in excellence in scholarship, teaching and research.

Mission Statement

The Chaired and Titled Professors group is composed of faculty who are most notably accomplished in both research and teaching. The group was founded in the early 1990s for the specific purpose of advancing research and scholarship. The primary aim of the group is to deliberate about, question, and illuminate important issues and concerns related to the welfare of Clemson University. The members assume stewardship for the University’s mission in their actions and deliberations and, when called upon, act as an advisory group for administrative or other governing bodies at the University. This group represents a unique leadership entity toward continuous and sustained enhancement of Clemson’s mission to achieve the highest level of scholarly and pedagogical excellence.

Upcoming Events

  • Members plan to meet with Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Brian O'Rourke at 1826 Bistro in Pendleton on October 30. 2018.

Past Events

  • May 1, 2018— Members hosted President James P. Clements
  • February 27, 2018 — Members hosted Dr. Ellen Granberg, Senior Associate Provost and Professor of Sociology\
  • November 29, 2017 — Members hosted Dr. Amy Lawton-Rauh, President of the Faculty Senate and Associate Professor of Genetics and Biochemistry
  • October 4, 2017 — Members met with Dr. Windsor Sherrill, Associate Vice President for Health Research, Professor of Public Health Sciences, and Chief Science Officer for the Greenville Health System.\
  • April 11, 2017 — Members hosted Provost Bob Jones and Vice President of Research Tanju Karanfil.
  • February 15, 2017 — Members hosted the Mayor of Greenville, Knox White.

See more Past Events here.