Cherry Braswell Rutland Memorial Award

Cherry and Bob RutlandAward History 

In 2018, through the Robert J. Rutland Institute for Ethics at Clemson University, an award opportunity was established to provide financial assistance for students who exhibit ethical leadership through excellent decision-making skills.

Named after Mrs. Cherry Braswell Rutland, the late wife of Mr. Rutland, the award is designed to recognize a student at Clemson University who has demonstrated ethical fortitude in the face of a true ethical dilemma. A minimum of one award will be presented annually in the amount of $1,000 to an eligible student who embodies the spirit of ethical leadership.

A panel of judges will determine awards. Judges will primarily consist of the following university personnel and alumni: Dr. William McCoy (Director, Rutland Institute for Ethics), Mrs. Carie Rutland Cordero (Alumnus), and Dr. David Stegall (Senior Lecturer in Philosophy).

All questions should be directed to Dr. William C. McCoy at: or by calling (864) 656-6147.

2022 Award Recipient: Raleigh Adams, Honorable Mentions: Haley Blazer & Bryanna Thobe

Previous Winners:
2021: Alexis Davis
2020: Tahj Robinson
2019: Alianna Pearson


Who is Cherry Braswell Rutland? (By her daughter, Carie Rutland Cordero)

"Cherry Braswell Rutland was raised in Decatur, Georgia and graduated from Emory University where she went on to serve others through the field of nursing. She married Robert J. Rutland and together they had three daughters and nine grandchildren. Cherry was a highly sought after friend, with a contagious laugh and beautiful smile. She had a passion to see others grow in the Lord, which was made evident by her time and commitments. She continually prayed for people and gave her time and resources to her local church and numerous mission organizations. Her character was proven even in the last few months of her life as she continued to place the needs of others ahead of her own out of a heart of servitude while battling cancer. Her commitment to ethical decision-making was consistently demonstrated through her faith."


Award Criteria

The following criteria have been established for the Cherry Braswell Rutland Memorial Ethics Award candidates:

  • Must be an enrolled Clemson University undergraduate student.
  • Must demonstrate financial need (current recipient of loans or a work study student).
  • Must be in good standing with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0.
  • Must thoroughly complete the award application. Grammar will be strongly considered.
  • Applications are accepted September 1st – December 31st. Award application must be completed and submitted to the Director of the Rutland Institute for Ethics by December 31st for consideration.


Apply for the Cherry Braswell Rutland Memorial Ethics Award