YLI logo
  • 1 4-H Camp
    Enjoy swimming, fishing, nature trails, a climbing wall, arts and crafts, a talent show, dances and nights around the campfire. A Southern tradition since 1934!
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Camp Sewee
    Discover the wonders of marine life and the South Carolina coast by visiting salt marsh areas, freshwater ponds, a wildlife refuge and the SC Aquarium. Tubing, swimming, kayaking and a water park trip round out this wet and wonderful week!
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Camp Voyager
    Test your technological skills with GPS devices, PDAs, digital cameras, computers, Lego Mindstorms NXT® robots, radio-controlled cars and video game design—plus exciting adventures like paintball, go-carts and more!
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Expedition Sewee
    Dive into a learning adventure with Expedition Sewee! With age-appropriate programs designed for grades 2-8, Expedition Sewee offers an unforgettable study of coastal ecosystems—how they function, what they provide and why they’re important to preserve.
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Camp Wildlife
    Learn outdoor survival skills, hunting skills, shooting sports and wildlife ecology. Enjoy ATVs, paintball, archery, fishing and a variety of hands-on educational curricula.
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Adventure Summer Camp
    Challenge yourself to 10 days of Adventure Expeditions or 6 days of Adventure Mini-Trips in the Blue Ridge Mountains of S.C. and N.C. Backpacking, mountain biking, camping, canoeing, rock climbing and more!
    «Find out More»

Staff

Dedicated to making a difference in the lives of the youth and adults we serve, the YLI team has various backgrounds, personalities and talents. But the one thing we do share is staying true to the soul of the YLI mission and vision statement. Because of our dedicated, creative and service-oriented team, YLI continues to grow in its success.


Stephen Lance

Executive Director

slance@clemson.edu
Stephen Lance joined Clemson University’s Youth Learning Institute (YLI) in 1999, where he has held leadership positions as Chief of Staff, Associate Executive Director of Advancement, Director of Institute Advancement and Director of Marketing.
Appointed Executive Director in July 2014, Lance’s leadership has been instrumental in growing YLI into a $7 million public service delivery system for best-practice youth development programs. The organization has developed and delivered hundreds of programs through partnerships with public and private organizations and operates eight sites that serve over 30,000 individuals every year.
Lance has directed the re-design of the Institute’s organizational structure into management teams in the areas of program development and management, site operations, curriculum, personnel, marketing and public relations. His leadership has helped secure and maintain some of the organization’s most significant partner relationships and some of the largest private gifts to Clemson’s public service division.
Lance serves on the Advisory Board of Clemson’s Pre-Collegiate Programs Office and the Autism Academy of South Carolina Board of Directors. His educational background includes Clemson’s Youth Development Leadership Master’s Degree Program, a B.S. in Business Management from the University of South Carolina and training certification with the internationally-recognized Institute of HeartMath.
Lance and his wife, Melonie, have three daughters, Hayden (17), Carter (14) and Kalen (9).


Susan Alford

Associate Executive Director - Operations

valford@clemson.edu

Stephen Bateman

Front End Developer

dsbatem@clemson.edu

Jonathan Blackwell

Director, Camp Ghigua

jblack9@clemson.edu

Sandee Blankenship

Principal and Master Teacher - YLA

blanken@clemson.edu

Nickolas Brookins

Brooki3@clemson.edu

Assistant Director, OYDP

William Brown

Director of Grants and Assistant Principal of YLA (Youth Leadership Academy)

wbrown4@clemson.edu

Pam Bryant

Director of Public Information

pbryant@clemson.edu

Kate Cameron

Admin Specialist

kjcamer@clemson.edu

Loria Cass

Director of SNAP-ed

lcass@clemson.edu

Micale Chandler

Assistance Director - Ghigau

micalec@clemson.edu

Erika Davis

Teacher - Code Academy

edavis7@clemson.edu

Sara Davis

Director, New Horizons

sdavis4@clemson.edu

Brandon Driscoll

Assistance Director of Camp Hannon

drisco2@clemson.edu

Billy Edwards

Director, Center for Behavior Analysis

wedwar2@clemson.edu

Jason Eichelberger

Director of IT and Software Development

jeichel@clemson.edu

Laura Everhart Pace

Admin Assistant - Youth Leadership Academy

leverha@clemson.edu

Steven Farley

SNAPed Educator

stfarle@clemson.edu

Jorge Fogaca de Carvalho

Facilities Manager - Cooper

jfogaca@clemson.edu

Robert Frager

Director - Budget and Risk Management

rfrager@clemson.edu

Michelle Gareri

Site Director - Pickens

hayes5@clemson.edu

Christina Gilboy

SNAP-Ed Educator - Upstate

cgilboy@clemson.edu

Carleton Giles

Director, Graphic Design

cgiles@clemson.edu

Paul Goldsmith

Director of Maintenance

pgoldsm@clemson.edu

Carlos Gore-Ashton

Director - YDC

cashton@clemson.edu

Penny Gray

Administrative Specialist - Camp Long

pennyg@clemson.edu

Cody Greene

Director of At-Risk Programs

cgreene@clemson.edu

Lori Gugan

Admin Specialist - Summer Scholars

lgugan@clemson.edu

Porscha Henson

Assistant Director, New Horizons

Porschh@clemson.edu

Maegan Hinson

Teacher - YLA

adamsh@clemson.edu

Joshua Hobbs

Teacher - Code Academy

hobbs3@clemson.edu

Deborah Johnson

Teacher - YLA

deboraj@clemson.edu

Chad Jones

Associate Executive Director, Residential Programs

crjones@clemson.edu

Linda Jordan

Administrative Specialist, R.M. Cooper

ljorda3@clemson.edu

Toby Kirkland

Chief of Staff

tobyk@clemson.edu

Stacy Kirkland

Creative Projects

skirkla@clemson.edu

Georganne Kirven

Assistant Director, 4-H

gkirven@clemson.edu

Pillani "Nani" Koonee


pkoonee@clemson.edu

Dorothy Lamance

Teacher - YLA

slamanc@clemson.edu

Gregory Linke

Director PCPO and Program Development

glinke@clemson.edu

Joanna Major

Teacher - Code Academy

jmajor@clemson.edu

Diane Martin

Account Fiscal Analyst

dmrtn@clemson.edu

Mike Matthews

Director, Sewee

matthe4@clemson.edu

Justin Mayfield

IT - Pickens

jdmayfi@clemson.edu

Jacob "Jake" McClure

Site Director - Camp Bob Cooper

jmcclur@clemson.edu

Sara McDonald

Teacher - Code Academy

smcdon2@clemson.edu

Breanna McGowan

Lead Clinical Staff - Ghigau

btmcgow@clemson.edu

George Mongold, III

Director of Camp Based Programs

gmongol@clemson.edu

Elizabeth Morris

Director - Professional Standards

emorri2@clemson.edu

Erin Nunley

Teacher - Code Academy

enunley@clemson.edu

Stephanie Pimlott

Account Fiscal Analyst

spimlot@clemson.edu

Wendell Price

Chief of Interagency Collaborations

wprice@clemson.edu

Laura Reeves

Executive Administrative Assistant

lrvs@clemson.edu

Jamie Rekers

Promotions

jrekers@clemson.edu

Angela Riddle

Special Ed Teacher - YLA

ariddl2@clemson.edu

Jelani "Jay" Robinson

Teacher - Code Academy

jelanir@clemson.edu

Kevin Rohe

Teacher - Code Academy

krohe@clemson.edu

Patsy Smith

Director of School Based Programs

patsys@clemson.edu

Shane Strahs

Teacher - Code Academy

sstrahs@clemson.edu

Johnny Summey

Facilities Manager, Headquarters

summey3@clemson.edu

Nathan Swords

Teacher - YLA

nswords@clemson.edu

Jennifer Talley

Admin Specialist - Pickens

talley@clemson.edu

Kerianne Taylor

Marketing, Promotions and Personnel

keriant@clemson.edu

Leigh Turner

Teacher - YLA

lturne6@clemson.edu

Chad Wayne

Director - Code Academy

chadw@clemson.edu

Stacy Williams

Lead Clinical Staff - YDC

Stacy4@clemson.edu