YLI logo
  • 1 4-H Camp
    Enjoy swimming, fishing, nature trails, a climbing wall, arts and crafts, a talent show, dances and nights around the campfire. A Southern tradition since 1934!
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Camp Sewee
    Discover the wonders of marine life and the South Carolina coast by visiting salt marsh areas, freshwater ponds, a wildlife refuge and the SC Aquarium. Tubing, swimming, kayaking and a water park trip round out this wet and wonderful week!
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Camp Voyager
    Test your technological skills with GPS devices, PDAs, digital cameras, computers, Lego Mindstorms NXT® robots, radio-controlled cars and video game design—plus exciting adventures like paintball, go-carts and more!
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Expedition Sewee
    Dive into a learning adventure with Expedition Sewee! With age-appropriate programs designed for grades 2-8, Expedition Sewee offers an unforgettable study of coastal ecosystems—how they function, what they provide and why they’re important to preserve.
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Camp Wildlife
    Learn outdoor survival skills, hunting skills, shooting sports and wildlife ecology. Enjoy ATVs, paintball, archery, fishing and a variety of hands-on educational curricula.
    «Find out More»
  • 1 Adventure Summer Camp
    Challenge yourself to 10 days of Adventure Expeditions or 6 days of Adventure Mini-Trips in the Blue Ridge Mountains of S.C. and N.C. Backpacking, mountain biking, camping, canoeing, rock climbing and more!
    «Find out More»

Staff

Dedicated to making a difference in the lives of the youth and adults we serve, the YLI team has various backgrounds, personalities and talents. But the one thing we do share is staying true to the soul of the YLI mission and vision statement. Because of our dedicated, creative and service-oriented team, YLI continues to grow in its success.


Jorge Calzadilla

Executive Director

jclzdll@clemson.edu
As Executive Director of the Youth Learning Institute, Jorge is responsible for the management, staffing, program development and budgets of YLI Headquarters and Leadership Centers. Under his leadership since 1987, YLI has developed from a 9-week summer camp program with 12 staff members into a year-round operation with more than 80 active programs and over 175 full-time and seasonal employees. YLI has established over 200 external partnerships, and Jorge’s collaborations with the S.C. Department of Juvenile Justice, S.C. Department of Social Services, S.C. National Guard, S.C. Department of Education and other agencies have resulted in groundbreaking programs like the Youth Development Center, Youth ChalleNGe Academy, Outdoor Youth Development Program and New Horizons Family Center. Jorge has both a B.A. and an M.Ed. in Education.


Susan Alford

Senior Policy Advisor

valford@clemson.edu

Gail Anderson

Data Coordinator, EFNEP

gandrsn@clemson.edu

Pamela Ardern

State 4-H Program Leader

pardern@clemson.edu

Jonathan Blackwell

Director, Camp Ghigua

jblack9@clemson.edu

Sandee Blankenship

Master Teacher

blanken@clemson.edu

Leah Bleasdale

Assistant Director, OYDP

lbleasd@clemson.edu

William Brown

Director of Grants and Assistant Principal of YLA (Youth Leadership Academy)

wbrown4@clemson.edu

Pam Bryant

Director of Public Information

pbryant@clemson.edu

Debra Calzadilla

Account Fiscal Analyst

dclzdll@clemson.edu

Katherine Cason

State EFNEP Director

kcason@clemson.edu

Loria Cass

DIrector of SNAP-ed

lcass@clemson.edu

Tony Catone

Associate Executive Director of Operations

acatone@clemson.edu

Sara Davis

Director, New Horizons

sdavis4@clemson.edu

Brandon Driscoll

Assistance Director of Camp Hannon

drisco2@clemson.edu

Billy Edwards

Director, Center for Behavior Analysis

wedwar2@clemson.edu

Jason Eichelberger

Director of IT and Software Development

jeichel@clemson.edu

Lori Frager

Public Information Specialist

lfrager@clemson.edu

Robert Frager

Chief Financial Officer

rfrager@clemson.edu

Carleton Giles

Director, Graphic Design

cgiles@clemson.edu

Paul Goldsmith

Director of Maintenance

pgoldsm@clemson.edu

Penny Gray

Administrative Specialist - Camp Long

pennyg@clemson.edu

Cody Greene

Director of W.W. Long

cgreene@clemson.edu

Lori Gugan

Admin Specialist - Charter School

lgugan@clemson.edu

Porscha Henson

Assistant Director, New Horizons

Porschh@clemson.edu

Maegan Hinson

Teacher

adamsh@clemson.edu

Kelly Howington

DIrector, R.M. Cooper

khowing@clemson.edu

Chad Jones

Associate Executive Director, Residential Programs

crjones@clemson.edu

Linda Jordan

Administrative Specialist, R.M. Cooper

ljorda3@clemson.edu

Toby Kirkland

Associate Executive Director, Systems

tobyk@clemson.edu

Stacy Kirkland

Creative Projects

skirkla@clemson.edu

Georganne Kirven

Assistant Director, 4-H

gkirven@clemson.edu

Dorothy "Dottie" Lamance

Teacher

slamanc@clemson.edu

Stephen Lance

Associate Executive Director of Advancement

slance@clemson.edu

Jonathan Learned

Assistant Director of Information Technologies

jlearne@clemson.edu

Gregory Linke

Chief Liaison for Academic Affairs

glinke@clemson.edu

Diane Martin

Account Fiscal Analyst

dmrtn@clemson.edu

Mike Matthews

Director, Sewee

matthe4@clemson.edu

George Mongold, III

Director of Residential Programs

gmongol@clemson.edu

Elizabeth Morris

Assistance Director YDC - Girls

emorri2@clemson.edu

Stephanie "Libby" Pimlott

Administrative Asssitant EFNEP, YLI

spimlot@clemson.edu

Wendell Price

Chief of Interagency Collaborations

wprice@clemson.edu

Laura Reeves

Executive Administrative Coordinator

lrvs@clemson.edu

Jason Rikard

Assistant Director of Web Development

jrikard@clemson.edu

Lisa Sanders

Admin Assistant, Camp Ghigau

lmsande@clemson.edu

Charles "Hub" Smith

Facilities Manager, Camp Hannon

cs5@clemson.edu

Patsy Smith

Director of School Based Programs and Principal, YLA

patsys@clemson.edu

Summer Snyder

Assistance Director, Camp Ghigau

srsnyde@clemson.edu

Johnny Summey

Facilities Manager, Headquarters

summey3@clemson.edu

Julie Summey

Teacher

summey2@clemson.edu

Nathan Swords

Teacher

nswords@clemson.edu

Matthew Tate

IT

mrtate@clemson.edu

Kerianne Taylor

Marketing, Promotions and Personnel

keriant@clemson.edu

Leigh Turner

Teacher

lturne6@clemson.edu

Peter Wiener

555-555-0199@example.com

wiener@example.com

Stacy Williams

Lead Clinical Staff

Stacy4@clemson.edu