Student Awards

Thea McCrary Student Award for Outstanding Service

The President's Commission on the Status of Women is proud to announce the 9th annual Thea McCrary Student Award for Outstanding Service. Named after the late Captain Thea McCrary, former chair of the Women's Commission, this award honors a female or male student who is engaged in public service or public education on matters critical to the lives of women and society in general.

Thea Carlin, at Clemson University, Clemson South Carolina

2015 Award Winner
President Clements, WC chair, Suzanne Price and Thea McCrary winner, Jaleese Blake.

Nomination Form

Eligibility: Any student (male or female) who, during the previous academic year, has been engaged in community or public service may be nominated.

Deadline: All nominations must be turned in by February 26, 2016.

Award: The recipient of this award will be granted a stipend of $150, to be presented at the Outstanding Women Awards in March 9, 2016.

Nomination requirements: The application packet must include this form, one letter of nomination detailing the student's service activities, and two letters of recommendation.

Contact information: For more information about the award, nominations, or to contribute to the Thea McCrary Student Award for Outstanding Service fund, please contact Linda Tindal at 864-656-1532 or

Download nomination form here.