Download Adobe Reader

The John E. Walker Department of Economics

Economics is a way of thinking about every aspect of human behavior, from the management of a business firm to the raising of children. At its core, the "economic approach" is the application of the basic principles of rational choice to business decisions, public policy issues, and everyday life. Economics majors become adept at thinking logically, which prepares them for success in the widest possible variety of occupations.

About John E. Walker

John E. Walker ’58 has been both an economics professor and a highly successful entrepreneur. Founder of Andesa TPA Inc., Dr. Walker is a pioneer of the information economy, whose business vision was a direct outgrowth of his economics training. Because of his belief in the fundamental importance of economics as a field of study and his dedication to Clemson, in October 2001, Dr. Walker announced his gift of nearly $7 million to fund the expansion of the department's faculty and the enhancement of its programs. Dr. Walker was also instrumental in developing the Walker Golf Course, named after his father, Colonel John E. Walker Sr. ’26.

Spring 2019 Seminar Series

  • Friday, February 8, 2019 - Kerwin Charles, University of Chicago
  • Friday, February 22, 2019 - Paul Kupiec (AEI)
  • Friday, March 1, 2019 - Renee Fry-McKibbin, Australian National University
  • Thursday, March 7, 2019 - Harris Dinner - Guest Speaker Dennis Carlton, University of Chicago
  • Friday, March 15, 2019 - Meredith Rhodes, Louisiana State University
  • Friday, March 22, 2019 - Spring Break
  • Friday, March 29, 2019 - Melinda Pitts, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
  • Friday, April 5, 2019 - Rudi Bachman, Notre Dame
  • Friday, April 12, 2019 - Kevin Schnepel, Simon Fraser
  • Friday, April 19, 2019 - Richard Baillie, Michigan State
  • Friday, April 26, 2019 - Chris Walters, University of California - Berkeley

Department News & Events


 

Order your copy today: