Intercultural Development Inventory

IDI_Logo.JPG

Overview

ClemsonFORWARD, the 10-year strategic plan for Clemson University, seeks to strengthen the sense of community and connectedness by enhancing diversity, creating an environment of inclusive excellence, and providing professional and leadership development opportunities to make Clemson a great place to work, study, and live.

To help Clemson University achieve its strategic goals, an instrument called the Intercultural Development Inventory can be used to assess intercultural competence, create self and/or group awareness, and provide an individualized plan for growth and advancement.

Intercultural Development Inventory

The Intercultural Development Inventory (IDI) is a psychometric instrument that assesses intercultural competence – the capability to shift cultural perspective and appropriately adapt behavior to cultural differences and commonalities. This 50-item questionnaire is available in 17 languages, it can be accessed online, and takes approximately 15-20 minutes to complete. After taking the assessment, IDI generates an Individual Profile Report that outlines the individual’s capacity to shift perspectives and appropriately adapt behaviors and an Individual Development Plan (IDP) – a detailed blueprint for the individual to further develop their cultural competence.

The IDI also generates group intercultural competence profiles. Group profiles are used to assess a department or organization’s intercultural competence as an aggregate. The group profile results allow the department or organization to identify cross-cultural goals and challenges and develop adaptive strategies that can be used while working with individuals from diverse backgrounds.

What are the steps in taking the IDI?

  1. Send an email to idicu@clemson.edu to schedule an appointment to discuss goals and plans related to the use of the IDI
  2. Take the Intercultural Development Inventory (takes about 15-20 minutes)
  3. Schedule a session to interpret the results

Costs associated with taking the IDI at Clemson

  1. Each test ordered by an educational institution is $12/student and $18/staff or faculty.
  2. There is no cost for having a Qualified Administrator come and deliver your individual and/or group profile results

Current Qualified Administrators

Roxanne Amerson, School of Nursing, roxanna@clemson.edu 
DeOnte Brown, Student Affairs, Campus Achievement and Student Empowerment, deonteb@clemson.edu 
Sharetta Bufford, College of Science, sbuffor@clemson.edu 
Marjorie Campbell, CCIT, marj@clemson.edu 
Angie Carter, College of Education, adc5@clemson.edu 
Jason Combs, College Preparation and Outreach, jsingle@clemson.edu
Jodi Cox, The Graduate School, jodi2@clemson.edu 
Sarah Dumas, Campus Achievement and Student Empowerment, dumas@clemson.edu 
Ciera Durden, Gantt Multicultural Center, cierad@clemson.edu 
Megan Fallon, Access and Equity, mrfallo@clemson.edu 
Brittany Peacock Flowers, Cooperative Extension, bepeaco@clemson.edu 
Matt Floyd, Human Resources, mwfloyd@clemson.edu 
Jacob Frankovich, Gantt Multicultural Center, frankov@clemson.edu
Amy Gamble, University Housing, acg@clemson.edu 
Jerad Green, Gantt Multicultural Center, jeradg@clemson.edu
Jaz Hamilton, Human Resources, tammih@clemson.edu 
Sara Hanks, College Preparation and Outreach, smitch5@clemson.edu 
Leah Hughes, College of Business, leahh@clemson.edu 
Yianna Kappas, Alumni Relations, jkappas@clemson.edu 
Matthew Kirk, College Preparation and Outreach, mjkirk@clemson.edu
Cindy Lee, Engineering & Science Education, lc@clemson.edu 
Erica Lee, Campus Life, elee8@clemson.edu 
Julian Nixon, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences, jenixon@clemson.edu 
Jessica Owens, Academic Success Center, dean4@clemson.edu 
Eric Pernotto, University Housing, epernot@clemson.edu 
Gabriela Peschiera, College of Business, gpeschi@clemson.edu
Kate Radford, Campus Life, radford@clemson.edu 
Altheia Richardson, Inclusion and Equity, lalthei@clemson.edu 
Agassy Rodriguez, Campus Life, agassyr@clemson.edu 
Mahin Sandoval-Chavez, Campus Life, mahins@clemson.edu 
Alydia Sims, University Libraries, alydias@clemson.edu 
Alesia Smith, Inclusion and Equity, alesias@clemson.edu
Cara Snider, Campus Life, csnide3@clemson.edu 
Daniel Solomon, Global Engagement, solomo9@clemson.edu 
Helen Diamond Steele, College of Business, hsteele@clemson.edu 
Beth Stephan, General Engineering, bethste@clemson.edu 
Kendra Stewart-Tillman, Gantt Multicultural Center, stewar5@clemson.edu
Teresa Tucker, Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management, teresa@clemson.edu 
Sallie Turnbull, Global Engagement, sbromby@clemson.edu 
Ann Wetsel, School of Nursing, mwetsel@clemson.edu 

Interested in becoming a Qualified Administrator?

For information on cost and how to register to become an IDI Qualified Administrator, please contact idicu@clemson.edu.