Materials Science & Engineering
Faculty

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering draws on the research and teaching expertise of faculty from across the College of Engineering and Science, but its core faculty focus on ceramics, polymers, photonics, and textiles.

To learn more about our Faculty and their research, please click on the pictures to go to a brief biography. If you have any questions pertaining to research, you may contact faculty members at the phone number or email address provided.

MS&E Welcomes New Department Chair

Secure MSE Faculty Site

Current Faculty (click on picture for Bio.)

John M. Ballato, Ceramic Engineering
(864) 656-1035
jballat@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Optical

Director of COMSET

Vincent Blouin, Joint Appointment
(864) 656-5352
vblouin@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Materials applications in Architecture, corrosion, numerical modeling

Denis A. Brosnan, Ceramic Engineering
(864) 656-0603
bdenis@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Tile and Brick

Philip J. Brown, Polymer & Textiles
(864) 656-6072
pjb@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Fiber Based Devices & Formation

Michael S. Ellison, Polymer Fibers
(864) 656-5956
ellisom@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Biomimesis

Stephen H. Foulger, Materials Science
Gregg-Graniteville Endowed Chair and Professor
(864) 656-1045
foulger@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Assemblies of Colloidal Particles

Group  http://colloid.clemson.edu

Esin Gulari
(864) 656-3202
egulari@clemson.edu

Marian (Molly) Kennedy, Materials Science
(864) 656-5349
mskenne@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Mechanical response of biological materials, Adhesion energy along polymer - metal Interfaces
Wear of hard coatings in aggressive environment
Nanolaminate deformation and aging

Group http://clemson.edu/ces/kennedylab

Konstantin Kornev, Materials Physics
(864) 656-6541
kkornev@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Nanofluidics

Group http://www.clemson.edu/ces/kornevlab/

Gary C. Lickfield, Polymer Fibers
(864) 656-5964
lgary@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Online Characterization During Melt Spinning

Igor Luzinov, Polymer Science
(864) 656-5958
luzinov@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Surface & Interfacial Polymer Layers & Films

O. Thompson Mefford, Materials Science
(864) 656-4307
mefford@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Magnetic Nanoparticles

Group http://meffordresearch.com/

Fei Peng, Ceramics
(864) 656-4134
fpeng@clemson.edu
Research Interest: High Temperature Ceramics

Group http://www.clemson.edu/ces/peng/

Henry J. Rack, Metallurgy
(864) 656-5636
rackh@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Advanced Metallics & Composites

Eric C. Skaar, Ceramic Engineering
(864) 656-5351
ecskr@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Materials Processing

Marek W. Urban, Polymer Science
J.E. Sirrine Foundation Endowed Chair and Professor
(864) 656-1155/0549
mareku@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Polymer Science, Stimuli-Responsive Materials, Spectroscopy

Group http://www.clemson.edu/ces/urbanresearch/


Research Faculty

Richardson Kathleen Richardson, Ceramic Engineering
(864) 656-0549
richar3@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Oxide & Non-oxide Optical Glasses & Glass Ceramics

John P. Sanders, National Brick Research CT
(864) 656-0604
jpsand@clemson.edu

Steven Serkiz, Environmental Engr & Earth Science
(864) 656-3276
serkiz@clemson.edu


Courtesy Joint Appointment

Green Keith Green, School of Architecture
(864) 656-3887
kegreen@clemson.edu

 

Tennyson Andrew Tennyson, Chemistry - 483 Hunter Labs
(864) 656-3158
atennys@clemson.edu

http://chemistry.clemson.edu/people/Tennyson.html

Julie Martin, Engineering and Science Education
(864) 656-4321
jtrenor@clemson.edu

Terry Tritt Terry Tritt, Physics
(864) 656-5319
ttritt@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Condensed matter physics

Group http://virtual.clemson.edu/groups/TMRL/Index.html

 

Adjunct Faculty

OwensJeffery R. Owens, Senior Research Chemist
Jeffery.Owens@TYNDALL.AF.MIL


AFCEC, Tyndall AFB, Florida

 

BliznyukValery Bliznyuk, Polymer Science & Nanotechnology
(864) 656-3181
vblizny@clemson.edu

Research Interest: nanostructured polymer materials for electronics, photovoltaics & sensors

http://people.clemson.edu/~vblizny

 

Ulrich Fotheringham, ulrich.fotheringham@schott.com

Bao Hua Bao
(864)656-1023,
bao@clemson.edu

LoweTerry C. Lowe
tlowe@lanl.gov

Yaw S. Obeng, ysoa1@aol.com

Peeler David K. Peeler
david.peeler@srnl.doe.gov

Sergei L. Pyshkin, spyshkin@yahoo.com

Ruslan Z. Valiev, rzvaliev@mail.rb.ru

Tommy Edwards, thomase@clemson.edu

Suzanne Huerth, huerths@clemson.edu

LupoProf. Donald Lupo
Tampere University of Technology
Department of Electronics
Korkeakoulunkatu 3, PO Box 692
Tel.: +358-40-8490614
FI-33101 Tampere

E-mail: donald.lupo@tut.fi

Michael Meador, mmeador@clemson.edu

Witter David Witter
dwitter@clemson.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Richard J. Aspland, Color Chemistry
(864) 654-2204
aj@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Color

Hassan M. Behery

Cole Christine W. Cole, Textiles & Apparel
(864) 656-8454
cwjrv@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Fabrics

Michael J. Drews, Director, Clemson Conservation Center
(843) 744-2974, ext. 11
dmichae@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Super & Sub-Critical Fluids

Clifford C. Fain

Bhuvenesh C. Goswami
(864) 656-7880,
gbhuven@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Yarns & Fabrics

C. J. Hubbard

O. Frank Hunter

LeeBurtrand I. Lee, Ph.D.
Lburtra@clemson.edu
address: 2862 Sutton Oaks Lane, Vienna, VA 22181

CECON Science & Engineering Consultant (http://www.cecon.com/)
Research Expertise: Materials synthesis-structure-property relationship, nanoparticle synthesis and stabilization, sustainable energy materials.

Henry G. Lefort

David H. Leigh, III

Douglas V. Rippy

Clarence D. Rogers
(864) 656-5962,
cdrtex@clemson.edu

Theodore D. Taylor
(864) 656-5352,
tdtyl@clemson.edu

Edward A. Vaughn
(864) 656-5965,
vedward@clemson.edu
Research Interest: Dry Laid Nonwovens