President's Commission on the Status of Women

A Retrospective 2003-2004

Women's Commission Roster

Valerie Ramsey, Chair
Sydney Cross, Deputy Chair
Judy Melton, ex officio
Cathy Sams, ex officio
Ernest Moore, Admin. Assistant
Cathy Bell
Bea Bailey
Mike Coggeshall
Lillian Harder
Elaine Richardson
Robbie Nicholson
Linda Crew
Altheia Richardson
Julia McBride

Outstanding Women Awards

2004 winners:

Faculty: Dr. Melanie M. Cooper, Professor of Chemistry
Staff: Ms. Linda Law, Advisor, General Engineering
Graduate Student: Ms. Keisha Walters, Ph.D. Research, Philosophy in Chemical Engineering
Undergraduate Student: Ms. Meredith Russell, Physics

"Clemson University as a Workplace" presented at Oxford University

Presented by Dr. Brenda Vander Mey.

Women's Leadership Program

Focused on helping women in the areas of networking, leadership, fundraising, and gaining confidence.

Instituted the Thea McCrary Student Award for Outstanding Service

Will be presented to a student in recognition of service to the community.

AAUW Conference on Female Student Athletes

Attended and invited CU Athletics Coach Linda White to speak to the Commission on topics involving student female athletes.

South Carolina Women in Higher Education Conference

Continued to represent Clemson University at this yearly event.

American Association of University Women Conference

Represented Clemson University at the conference in Atlanta, Georgia.

Worked with the Women's Studies Program

Helped publicize health awareness seminars for men and women.