President's Commission on the Status of Women

A Retrospective 2007-2008

Women's Commission Roster

Dr. Rachel Mayo, Chair
Ms. Robbie Nicholson, Deputy Chair
Dr. Sydney Cross, ex officio
Dr. Brenda Vander Mey, ex officio
Dr. Karen Kemper
Ms. Susan Pope
Ms. Beth Jarrard
Dr. Megan Shockley-Taylor
Ms. Helena Douglas
Ms. Kathy Woodard
Dr. Nancy Porter
Ms. Wendy Howard
Dr. Kathy Headley
Dr. Beth Kunkel
Dr. Veronica Parker
Dr. Elisa K. Sparks

Outstanding Women Awards 2008 winners:

Faculty: Dr. Patricia Layton, Forestry and Natural Resources
Staff: Dana Irvin, Honors College
Distinguished Contributor: Patti McAbee, Clemson University Board of Trustees
Graduate Student: Erica Walbert, Counselor Education
Undergraduate Student: Sabra Harrison, Political Science

Thea McCrary Student Award for Outstanding Service

Peg Carter, Health Science

Hosted South Carolina Women in Higher Education Conference

Clemson University hosted the SCWHE conference and Provost Dori Helms delivered the keynote speech.  President Barker welcomed over 70 faculty and staff from around the state in the President's Box at the football stadium.  It was seen as an excellent opportunity to showcase Clemson University.  

Women's Commission Faculty Survey

Institutional Research reported their findings to the commission, several themes emerged regarding the overall satisfaction and quality of life for women faculty at Clemson University. 

Benefits Fair

Distributed mission statement and goals and gathered input from the campus community.