President's Commission on the Status of Women

A Retrospective 1994-1995

Women's Commission Roster

Dr. Carol Bleser, Chair
Dr. Gloria Bautista
Ms. Starlett Craig
Dr. Margaree Crosby
Dr. Lois Duke
Dr. Barbara Foltz
Ms. Thea McCrary
Ms. Vivian Morris
Dr. Alan Schaffer
Sandra Smith
Ms. Cathy Sturkie
Jerry Waldvogel
Ms. Cathy Sams, ex officio
Ms. Judi Nicks

Outstanding Women Awards

1995 winners:

Faculty: Lillian "Mickey" Harder, Professor of Music
Unclassified Staff: Barbara Kennedy-Dixon, Director, Student-Athlete Enrichment Program
Classified Staff: Jennifer Arblaster, Account Technician Supervisor, Animal, Dairy and Veterinary Sciences
No Graduate or Undergraduate Student nominations were solicited in 1995.

Benefits Fair

Distributed mission statement and goals and gathered input from the campus community.
Provided a commission directory and informed campus community of achievements and ongoing goals of the Commission.
Provided health and vision screenings.

Salary Equity Study

Conducted a salary equity study regarding female staff members and reported findings to the president.

Drafted Amorous Relationship Policy Letter

Adopted and distributed campus-wide on March 1, 1995.

Worked for Child Development Research Center

Conducted studies and surveys, networked with campus departments and area child care facilities to try and meet the need for quality, affordable child care for faculty and staff.